We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Skyrail is not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour

Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour
Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4035 5566
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$74*
and up
Ranked #33 of 111 Tours & Activities in Cairns
Attraction details
Barrigada, Guam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Skyrail is not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I think that the Skyrail needs to be in a category by itself, and especially not linked with a 'coach'. That means a bus, which is just the means for going up the mountain to ride the Skyrail or down after doing so. Of course there is the option to ride the Skyrail both up and down. The Skyrail is a gondola, one of those things that hangs on a cable. The outstanding thing about it to me is the length of the trip, which is about 45 minutes if I remember right. It takes you over the rainforest, across the river, and includes two places to get off along the way to look at the rainforest. There are very nice boardwalks, signs explaining things about the rainforest, as well as guided tours. At one of the stops is a great view of the waterfall at Barron Gorge. But the great thing is the fantastic view of the rainforest from just over the treetops for a nice long ride. I consider this the number one thing to do in Cairns by far. Although there are gondolas like this all over the world, there aren't too many that have a ride this long, or with this kind of unique view of the rainforest. No one should go to Cairns without riding it. The best time for photos, by the way, is probably the late afternoon - I think the last one goes at about 3:30 pm. The light is best then.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    157
    36
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingleburn, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was the best experience of our 10 day holiday. The trip on the train was so interesting and the scenery was beautiful. The skyrail was excellent with stops along the way to get out and walk around. The staff on both experiences were so helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed the markets at Kuranda and the walk along the river is so relaxing

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique views of the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We took the train up, and liked getting off at the stops. The tourist trap at the top was about expected, and we had a good lunch before buying things to take home (though the night market in Cairns is cheaper, of course). The skytrain down gave a unique view of the rainforest canopy, and the tour partway down told us a lot about the local vegetation and culture. We were very glad we went.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“have to do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

we took the train to go up and skyrail to go down. skyrail is much better option.what is cool is what is around the train history itself, the hardwork to build the railway, the beauty of the train and stations. view is much better from skyrail.but it was worth it and good to have two options on how to go up and down to kuranda...try both... maybe train is better to come down...the gondola offers great views and don't forget to stop at baron falls station for waterfalls pics.kuranda itself is a nice little hippies village, with markets.my wife was happy to cuddle a koala.the coach transfer was really good and our driver very funny and well prepared.really recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Appledore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We took the train up to Kuranda but returned from Kuranda on the Skyrail. It was quite busy but well organised. We had to share a car with two other people but still had fantastic views of the rainforest and the surrounding hills. We got out at Barron's Fall and followed the boardwalk to the various lookouts. The Australians really do know how to show off their country with good signage, boardwalks and lookouts. Back on the Skyrail and the next stop is Red Peak. It is worth getting off and following the boardwalk to the lookout, about a 10 minute walk. The final stop is Caravonica which is the terminus and from there coaches go to the beaches, Cairns and Freshwater. Had to wait for the coach and went to the cafe, the coffee was atrocious and I left it as I don't think there was any coffee in it. Overall the Skyrail experience is superb.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour also viewed

 

Been to Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.