We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip to Kuranda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour

Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour
Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4035 5566
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$73*
and up
Ranked #33 of 111 Tours & Activities in Cairns
Attraction details
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great day trip to Kuranda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I rode up to Kuranda on the train and came back down on the Skyrail. While it wasn't the most scenic train ride I have ever taken, it made for an enjoyable ride and was a great way to spend a day and visit Kuranda. We had plenty of time in Kuranda for lunch and shopping before our return trip on the Skyrail. The Skyrail ride gave great views of the forest and the Cairns area as we made our way back down to the station.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    157
    36
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our Kuranda Rainforest Tour. We started with the railroad first and ended with our return on the skyrail. We thought the skyrail far exceeded the railroad experience and probably would have preferred to start with it while we had more energy. The transfer from our hotel in Port Douglas took about hour with 4-5 pickups. Our driver was informative and we enjoyed the commentary and drive. The train station where we began our journey had many services and shopping and eating options before the train arrived. (Roll on bug repellent a best buy)
We had assigned seating on the train which was a bit cramped at four across. Luckily, some cars weren't filled so as soon as we started the conductors spread us out. The train trip was o.k. with some good views, a few picturesque waterfalls, and one viewing stop on the way up. The town of Kuranda was a "tourist" town. Lots of shops and restaurants. Mostly low budget stores. The trip down by the skyrail was really the spectacular part of the trip. Beautiful views while traveling high over gorges, rivers, and the beautiful tropical forest. There were two stops on the way down with bathrooms, interpretative centers and wooden walkways to lookout points. Loved this part of the trip. Another good shopping opportunity at the Skyrail store. Loved our day and thought this was really a great tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went up to Kuranda by train and returned by the Skyrail. I would advise that train and skyrail be taken when visiting Kuranda. You really do glide above the rainforest canopy and although no photo does justice to the scenery, it is spectacular. There are two stops on the Skyrail where you can get off and do a little tour. Both had interesting and historical info, along with info about the plants in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We took this tour as part of a package and it was a fun and interesting way to see the area. Book the "Gold" package if you can - you sit in a club car on the train and a lovely woman serves you afternoon tea with drinks and snacks. Sit on the left side of the train as you go down the mountain for the best view.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great relaxing day trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I did the wildlife experience tour which included the skyrail up, entry to koala gardens, birdworld and the butterfly sanctuary, then the return trip on the Kuranda railway. We had a great day, the weather was bearable(not raining and not to hot). We went up around 9am and the views from the skyrail are awesome! My girlfriend thoroughly enjoyed all 3 attractions so much she eventually ran out of memory on her camera! Her highlight though was having her photo taken with cuddly koala, which we travelled all the way from Perth for her birthday present.
Yes, the shops are catered towards the tourists but that is the market they need to survive, everyone we dealt with was friendly and genuinely happy that we were there buying things.
The train ride down was very relaxing, the commentary informative and full of great picture opportunities as the train slowed for the interesting sights along the way.
The one thing we noticed that all the staff along the way were excellent! everyone, from our transfer driver, the cable car operators, wildlife park attendents, shop owners and train staff, all were friendly, talkative and made the day for us! Well done!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour also viewed

 

Been to Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuranda, Coach, and Skyrail Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.