We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza, great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pizza

La Pizza
93 Esplanade Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
07 40312646
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
FNQ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited after a long day of sports with a group of 9 and the service was prompt and efficient. The food was divine. We had a real mix of orders on the table with the kids wanting pizza and the adults ordering pastas and the specials and all the food arrived together so there was none of that let your food get cold annoyance whilst everyone else's arrives - well done La Pizza, we'll be back :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    73
    38
    40
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went for breakfast on a Sunday morning looked like a good place to eat. Once we ordered our food, the wait was quite long. When we finally did receive our food the toast was dry the bacon was burnt and we were missing our avavodo and the ice coffee we ordered was tiny. Once we finished our meal we asked for our bill which took the waiter another 15 min we watched him serve other people and then finally tells us you pay at the front . This restaurant was disappointing not only was the food gross but the service was horrible. I advise not to eat there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food OK, staff disinterested”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday evening when it was busy without being flat out. There were 5 in our group and the waiter brought a bottle of water and then walked off and after waiting a few minutes we ended up fetching the glasses ourselves.
The waiter eventually came to take our order and then ran away without the opportunity to order drinks. When one of the group went to the counter to order drinks he was told to go and sit down as someone would come and take the drinks order (they didn't).
We had 2 tables pushed together and one of them was very wobbly. The staff were not interested in fixing this so we replaced the wobbly table ourselves. When the food arrived we were chastised for this!
The food was quite nice without being memorable and when we paid there was no acknowledgement nor were we asked how everything was.
All in all it was average and the staff need customer service training desperately. There is plenty of competition in the area and we are unlikely to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Long wait for brekky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It looked like a good place for breakfast. Unfortunately the lone waiter who served us was run off his feet and we had to find the menus ourselves and then wait a while for our orders. My eggs benny was a bit overcooked, and the bacon and mushrooms in the big breakfast which my friends ordered were burnt.
Does not cater for gluten-free diets - my friend had the big breakfast and couldn't get gluten-free bread instead of the focaccia. She also couldn't have the sausages in the breakfast and was not given any alternatives instead. She was still charged the same amount as a normal big breakfast.
Looking at other reviews, this seems like a good place for pizza but not for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The food taste equals the expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When walking by the La Pizza Restaurant it is difficult not to be tempted. The aromatics of the sauces, dough and meats are very drawing. The meals matches the expectation for taste.

The range of main courses is good offering variety for most tastes. Fresh salads and drinks provide an ideal outdoor eatery experience. The location on the street corner gives plenty of opportunities to view the water, street or park scape. Initial table service was friendly & efficient - although at times the place can be a little rushed and there could be some time between ordering & dining. Prices are as to be expected on the Esplanade, Cairns' main tourist street.

Overall if on holidays or a break, time is not the driver. Sit back relax & enjoy the North Queensland atmosphere & good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizza also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to La Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.