We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vietnamese food as a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First House Vietnamese Cuisine

First House Vietnamese Cuisine
55 Spence St, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Description: PHONE: 07 4051 5153
Restaurant details
Description: PHONE: 07 4051 5153
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good vietnamese food as a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I eat the very best Vietnamese food at home every day, and when I travel I like to eat a bowl of Pho every few days. we had tried a Vietnamese soup shop on Sheridan street that was mediocre, and then stumbled across First House. I ate Pho there twice, and the broth was very good, the noodles excellent, and the accompanying vegetables slightly better than good. Of equal importance, the Hoisin sauce was not watered down, and the pepper sauce was spicy. My grandson liked it so much he returned to it for the evening meal with a mob of backpackers who all pronounced their dishes a success. Reasonably priced good Vietnamese food. Almost as good as what you'll find in Saigon around the Cho Binh Thanh (market), but the veggies and spices don't all taste the same. But, this is Cairns and not Saigon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Specials on Weekdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

There is something really friendly and welcoming about this little place. Our attention was first drawn by the $8.80 lunch specials and we have been back a few times to enjoy these.

The Singapore Noodles are consistently delicious, with just the right amount of curry and the serving is deceptively filling! The beef pho is also worth trying with a great flavour that is enhanced with the spicy xo sauce that is provided on the tables. On our last occasion we also samples the drumsticks with tomato rice. Mr Impickles could not get enough of the sweet tomotoey rice and the drumsticks had a good texture and flavour.

They also have a variety of Laksas and other noodle soups at the specials price so we will be back to try more!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best Asian food we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After consulting the tripadvisor we decided to try First House. We are so happy we did. Both the food and the service were wonderful. Very very authentic and delicious. The owners were happy and very obliging and were on for a good ol chat. Great night to end our stay in Cairns.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been eating here regularly during my 2 month stay in Cairns. The Luu family are unfailingly pleasant, prompt and pay attention to the details. They take great pride in their food which is excellent. This is great value for money.....Linton

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The food is very good. Chef is a nice guy, he offers the best meal to us. I always eat the soft crab, it is very yummy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First House Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to First House Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First House Vietnamese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.