We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - holiday spoilt!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vision Cairns Esplanade

Save Saved
You added Vision Cairns Esplanade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vision Cairns Esplanade
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   125 - 129 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beware - holiday spoilt!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently booked a 2 bedroom mountain view apartment for a 5 night stay. We were given room 204 on the first floor which looked only at the street and had ABSOLUTELY no mountain views. It was incredibly noisy and with nothing else available and management maintaining the position that what they provided matched the hotel description, we had no choice but to leave and rebook at another hotel. We are now in a fight to obtain a refund on the basis of misleading conduct under consumer law. This really spoilt our short break and was very costly. A sum of $1500 for 5 nights was not a cheap stay. We also thought the furnishings were only average and the rooms very dark. I would not recommend a stay at this apartment and the manner in which we have been treated by management in dealing with our complaint has also been incredibly disappointing.

Room Tip: If the room faces Abbott St (as opposed to the Esplanade) and you are on a lower floor - be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Owner at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear KateW37,

It is very disappointing to hear that your holiday was spoilt. At Vision Apartments we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service standards, which is evident in prior reviews.

It is unfortunate that upon your initial complaint via phone we were not given an opportunity to deal with the situation, therefore our decision not to provide a refund. When we initially spoke, 24 hours after your check in, no mention of the view was made, however noise the issue and we informed you we would get back to you in approx 15 minutes. Prior to this occurring you took it upon yourselves to find alternate accommodation, pay for this accommodation in full, then after leaving our accommodation requesting a full refund via email.

In reference to your comment “absolutely” no mountain views, the Office of Fair Trading have attended the building and confirmed the apartment does have partial mountain views, which is supported by the attached photos taken from the balcony of Apartment 204. In relation to the furnishings, we are a 5 star property and are rated on an annual basis. In addition the apartment is far from dark as has wall to ceiling sliding doors along the front of the apartment (including front bedroom) opening to the balcony and the back bedroom also has floor to ceiling windows.

At no time during your stay did you mitigate your loss to us. I spoke with your husband when he returned the keys and when I later attended your apartment and no verbal complaints or compensation requests were discussed. Had we been advised in person of your concerns we would have the opportunity of dealing with the situation, and hopefully achieving a resolution that would have been satisfactory to all parties.

NOTE: Would also like to submit and post images which support response
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

All the appartments have excellent views of the mountains, pool or beach. They are clean and beautifully furnished and equiped. There is access to a Sauna, Fitness centre,, BBQ facilities, and an Outdoor pool. You can arrange for car hire at the reception desk, and sight seeing trips. There is also free car parking available.
The manager lent my daughter and son-in-law their buggy for the week we were there for my grandson, they couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Front Office Manager at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you Lallie C for such a kind review of Vision. We love to hear positive feedback in regards to doing something that helps our guests stay in Cairns a little easier and more enjoyable. We loved having you and your family stay with us and hope that you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic family stay with 5 adults and 3 kids. Stayed in sub penthouse room 108 and it was just perfect, pool right in front of our unit so kids could just go straight in and lovely views across esplanade. Walking distance to kids playground shops restaurants and reef and island tours. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Front Office Manager at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you joyseeGoldCoast for taking time out to write a review of our lovely property. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to have you and your family stay with us again on your next visit to Cairns :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Love this place - location, facilities ... A great family holiday.
Esplande is right there for a beautiful walk.
Kids loved pool and playground across road.
Apartment is new and tastefully furnished.

Very happy!
Plan to return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Front Office Manager at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you 916sarahd for your lovely review for Vision Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and loved our location, and we are extremely happy to hear you'll be returning to stay with us again...please give us a call when you're ready to visit and we would love to help make your stay in Cairns as special as the last. See you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this property! I corresponded by email to book, and then also to book tours. They were helpful and gave excellent suggestions! They upgraded us upon arrival which was appreciated, and the room we got was wonderful! So spacious, new, clean and beautiful. It was fully equipped in the kitchen, which made cooking easy (supermarket 10 min walk), but you can also eat out because you are in a great location - 5 minutes to many restaurants and shops.The laundry in room is huge plus if you are travelling around like we were. The pool was also really great, overlooking the Esplanade. All in all, I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ground floor, near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Front Office Manager at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you Isdavidson for your kind review. We loved having you stay with us and making your holiday memorable with helping you arrange your tours...anything we can do to make our guests stay at Vision more enjoyable puts a smile on our faces too :-) Please come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just spent a week at Vision Apartments on the Esplanade in Cairns and loved it so much we are going back in April! We booked a three bedroom ground floor apartment with ocean views and close to the pool. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with everything we needed and all 3 bedrooms were a good size with air-con plus the main had an ensuite bathroom which was lovely and included a bath and separate shower. We didn't have much reason to contact management but on the couple of occasions that we did they were friendly, helpful and prompt. The location was fantastic, it was an easy walk to everything but still quiet. Thanks Vision for a great holiday we are all looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Front Office Manager at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you kindly for your positive remarks about us. We loved having you stay and are very pleased that you will be coming to visit us again so soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneB_86
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

There was 6 of us travelling to Cairns for the Total Solar Eclipse and we initially had different apartments booked but the week before I had a look at what was still available and Vision Cairns Esplanade was available. I then changed our booking from the other apartments to this one and am glad that I did. We all were!

The staff were excellent, they helped us book a tour (the day before) and car hire (on the same day) at the last minute (there must of be millions of people in Cairns for the eclipse wanting to do the same thing) which was excellent because there was 6 of us! We were lucky to get a 3 bedroom apartment cheaper than what we had originally booked and it was excellent, we had some views of the esplanade but that didn't bother us. The rooms were big and it didn't feel like we were on top of each other when we were doing our own things. It had a full kitchen and the apartment was serviced daily. The rooms are air conditioned and they do provide shampoo, conditioner and soap but only the small bottles that you find in most hotels.

The gym wasn't too bad and we used it a couple of times but one or two of the weight machines could probably do with an upgrade. There were 2 pools, one near the bbq and the gym and the other looking out at the Esplanade. They weren't very big but they was never overcrowded so it didn't matter to us. We spent a lot of time in the pool on the Esplanade because people didn't know there was a pool there when they walked past and would get scared when they saw a head just over the fence!

We also used the BBQ a couple of times but there probably should be a bit more lighting down there so you are able to sit down there and eat rather than taking the stuff back to the apartment. Not an issue though!

The location of the apartments was great, we were walking distance to all the restaurants and activities and it was great. A couple of minutes from everything which is good because there is no restaurant or room service available.

The price that we payed for 4 nights for 6 people in a 3 bedroom apartment turned out to be like $70 a night per person so we were very happy with this! 5* for value!

I would recommend staying here for anyone wanting to travel to Cairns but don't want to stay in a typical hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vision A, Front Office Manager at Vision Cairns Esplanade, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Wow, Thank you LeanneB_86 for your positive and informative review. We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests. Lack of light around the BBQ area has been noted, so thank you for that, anything we can do to improve our property or our services for future and returning guests is a bonus. We are so pleased you were impressed by Vision and our staff members being of great help to you during your stay. We aim to make everyone's holiday experience an unforgettable one.
We would love to have you all stay again, so please think of Vision and contact us when planning your next trip to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vision Cairns Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vision Cairns Esplanade

Address: 125 - 129 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vision Cairns Esplanade 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Vision Cairns Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vision Cairns Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.