We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb modern Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellocale

Bellocale
62C Shields St,, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
(07) 4051 7777 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 411 restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb modern Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place has the best risottos I have ever tasted anywhere on the planet (Milan included..). Even if you have been left unimpressed by risottos in the past give theirs a try. Service is attentive and prompt and the place is in a good central location. The starters can be a bit bland but the mains and desserts are excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    61
    22
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The locals rave, now so do we..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having been told by a few locals in quick succession about this place we decided to try it. It was worth it. The staff are lovely, friendly & attentive. The menu specials were wonderful. It's not cheap nor too over the top, but you at least feel you got value for money. Oh, and there wine list is good too - just ask for help and they will steer you in the right direction if you are not sure. It will be on our return list to visit when we come back again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Chocolate foam dessert to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I enjoyed Bellocale. I had a tasty Caprese salad to start. My entree was good but nothing special. The dessert, however, was phenomenal - a chocolate foam (mousse) with raspberry and chili spice that was amazing. Great cappuccino to go with it, too. I wish I could eat that dessert nightly!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Qld
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food & excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A very busy restaurant with truly excellent service. A good menu plus interesting specials available on the night. A little expensive but we enjoyed it and will go back. Very busy so make sure you book. No special location, just in the heart of the "restaurant precinct" in Shields St, with the whole restaurant open to the street including tables out onto the street. Certainly a good atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WENT 2 OUT OF 4 NIGHTS IN CAIRNS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Fantastic Italian food! Travelling through Italy only 4 months ago, this is the closest thing we have had to real Italian food in Qld! Lovely service, with a smile at the front door, a cute little restaurant with beautiful food with a great atmosphere! We stayed in Cairns for 4 Nights and went back twice! Would definately reccommend to any one travelling through Cairns!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellocale also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bellocale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellocale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.