We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Food In Cairns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother India

Mother India
2/80, sheridan street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: www.motherindiacairns.com.au
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food In Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This restaurant is by far the best Indian in Cairns. We have tried them all and found all the others terrible, the curries were floating in oil. How wonderful it was to go to Mother India and have delicious proper Indian food. I have been to Indian restaurants since I was five years old and I am telling you this one is the best. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Consistently good Indian in Cairns. Good food and limited but good wine list for the type of restaurant - wines also by the glass. The owner is a pleasant character but I wish he wouldn't whistle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but wish theyd cook the rice properly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

They make a great vegetarian dishes but this meal in front of me is inedible due to hard rice and doughy uncooked Nahn bread . Need more attention to detail. Gonna have to ditch the rice and nahn unfortunatley. Ill try the another Indian resturaunt next time.

They are friendly and service is good but that dosn't help an uncooked meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“"Nice Food, Good Service."”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Food was good, & a resonable price. Service was great. The only authentic Indian meal i have eaten in Cairns. I recommend this place for a top meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Yum food, restaurant decor bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were the only ppl in the restaurant on a weeknight. Staff were pretty non-existant when we arrived. They took our order and the food came out really quick. Was a bit odd how the family (who clearly owned it) sat around the table next to us and opened up bills and had a discussion about the business! Not very professional. Also the restaurant clearly needs an upgrade in furnishing!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Mother India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.