We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ice cream” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Devine Gelato

Devine Gelato
Shop 3/5 Aplin Street | 4870, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 424 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Devine Gelato is a small locally owned shop providing freshly made on the premises gelato and sorbets using only the highest quality ingredients we can source. We are located in Aplin Street right next door to Outback Jacks family restaurant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Tried it because of the great reviews here. Can't understand no. 1 in Cairns. Come one - its average ice cream. Not bad and not outstanding good. Put some real restaurants on top, please!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    52
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An icecream a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This icecream is so good that we could not stay away. Every day we had at least one of their fabulous icecreams and they were all superb. Loved the coconut best of all. Lovely folk who serve the icecreams.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The BEST ice cream and gelato ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

It is owner operated. Both John and Lorraine are most cheerful and delightful people. Service with a smile. The gelato and ice cream are made on premises and the best we have ever tasted! Flavours are wholesome and with so many to choose from it took us a few visits to decide which we liked best! and then we went back everyday of our holidays. A number of other similar stores just weren't even close when it comes to quality and taste. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend. Looking forward to our return trip..yummm can't wait.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best gelati and ice cream in Cairns.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We went every day for 4 days and tried different flavours every time and each one was a revelation. Don't be fooled by the standard exterior, this is top quality ice cream. My faves were the after dinner mint and the whiskey cream- after lengthy research, as previously mentioned!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best gelato ever! Don't waste your time at the other stands!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This gelato stand is not exactly on the beaten path but it is well worth the few extra steps to get here. The owners are delightful and make the gelato themselves. It is the best gelato I have ever had. Do not visit Cairns without stopping by to say hello and have some goodness.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devine Gelato also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Devine Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devine Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.