We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cairns casino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Casino

The Reef Casino
35-41 Wharf St., Cairns, Queensland, Australia
07 4030 8888
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 31 Attractions in Cairns
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Casinos & Gaming
Attraction details
Tom Price, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“cairns casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This would have to be the most layed back casino in Australia.all the staff are great but some of the rookie security gaurds can be a bit out there.i got told to slow down after my second drink on a number of different occasions.thats the only negative they must think there the only one's who do shift work?????

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    81
    63
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Won me some money here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Normal Casino, pretty, bright lights, friendly staff, money money money. Won myself some cash and spent it on alcohol. Awesome!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super small and old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is not a Las Vegas casino so don't expect a ton of slot machines. I don't recall seeing any table games. Slot machines are super old, like dinosaur age. They spit out real money instead of a ticket to redeem the $ from the Cashier. If this was in the US, i would rate it a 2, but because it is in Australia and i have no idea what the standards of casinos are in Australia, i'm giving it a 3. Can't comment on any of the bars/restaurants as we did not visit any.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Casino needs a complete overhaul”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

When I headed into the Casino I thought I’d order a cocktail. The first bartender gave us the Cocktail Menu but never returned for our order so we went to another bar. When we asked if that bartender would make a Brandy Alexander Cocktail he said “I’ll try – what’s in it?” On that note, decided to order a wine instead – it was safer.

The casino itself is very tired and lacks atmosphere. There is no wow factor as one would expect. It really needs a complete renovation – not only the carpets, furnishings, lighting and restaurants, but the staff could do with a review too (they should at least have a can-do attitude and be fully hospitality-trained).

If it wasn’t for the poker machines and its’ central location I wouldn’t bother returning. Very disappointing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Casino is quite ordinary................bit crowded & small. The good restaurants are a bit expensive, but the one inside is average & reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Casino also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Reef Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.