We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotters International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Globetrotters International to your Saves list
Globetrotters International
154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at this hostel for just over a week and it was great. We stayed in a dorm and a double room and both was nice and clean. The staff at the hostel are friendly. The kitchens and chill out area are big and a nice place to relax with also the option of outdoor space (including pool). Would recommend to people. Go and enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    21
    20
    11
See reviews for
5
31
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I originally booked in for one week I enjoyed my stay so much I extended this for another
Week. Despite reading reviews about how dirty it is I decided to give it a go as it looks amazing in the photos online. I was not dissapointed the hostel was lovely the rooms were cleaned everyday there were plenty of facilities, the showers were nice toilets were kept clean I never had a problem! The staff were very friendly and always willing to help they even gave me a discount on my extension as a gesture of good will because I was already staying there. The only thing I could complain about was done noisy backpackers that woje me up in the early hours but when the owners found out they gave them a warning and it never happened again! Overall this place was everything I wanted great value for money, lovely staff, clean with plenty of facilities!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Clean and quiet. Really nice place with free WIFI. Bedroom and bed just perfect with a big mastress. Common areas are clean, warm, spacious and recent.
The price is cheap compared to other hotels that are in Cairns. I highly recommend it ! Go !

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Me and my girlfriend booked this hostel through hostel bookers are having a good look of the pictures agreed it seemed like a nice play to stay. Boy were we wrong! The rooms are extremely dirty we felt like our room hadnt been properley cleaned upon arrival, the bed sheets had brown marks on and didnt even fit our bed, their was rubbish in the draws next to the bed disqusting used tissues and papers! We had to constantly spray mosquito repellent and sprays on the constant army of ants coming out the walls next to the bed!!! They were literally everywhere.. on the walls in the kitchen and toilet and all over the rooms! We constantly woke up with bites all over our feet and legs and spoke to people who suffered the same. This has never happend to us in other hostels in cairns.
One night we had a disqusting cockroach in our room and had too chase it round the room to kill it! It ran all over our pillows and bed! Are cockroaches not a sign of dirty conditions!? The couches in the lounge area had these worm like creatures behind the pillows, the place was so unclean and old. I would not recommend a stay here, much better hostels in cairns and for better value!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for a 3 night visit to cairns which turned into 6 nights due to our plans being cancelled elsewhere due to the cyclone, staff were very helpful in getting us and 4 friends in for an extra 3 nights, and were very concious about everyones safety during the cyclone, keeping us informed on everything.
We had never stayed in a hostel before but globetrotters was clean and better than we thought it would be, the location was great.
Would recommend to anyone who wants a good place to stay if on a budget
Thanks-Kelly and Jay

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Thanks again for a great stay - this was the second time we've stayed here. The hostel is more than good enough for the price you pay per night, and the owners could not do more to help you out. A home away from home and I will definitely stay here again when back in Cairns. Thanks! Katie & Sam

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed In this hostel 2 times and enjoyed both stays. Helpful staff especially the owners. Kitchens pretty good and thier is enough of them not to be waiting around. Nice pool and outside lounge. 10minute walk to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Address: 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globetrotters International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.