We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotters International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Globetrotters International to your Saves list
Globetrotters International
154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great time here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The rooms were small but tidy and had air conditioning on from 7pm until 7am the following morning, which helped as the humidity is overwhelming in Cairns!

The communal kitchen was in a good state, but could have done with more cooking utensils, like pots, pans, etc.

It has a small jacuzzi/pool which is lovely to spen lots of time in; think it would have gotten very crowded if the hostel was full, but we went there during off peak season so got to ourselves often :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    23
    24
    11
See reviews for
6
34
34
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Staff are friendly, however I didn't enjoy my stay here at all. I only stayed one night, and was thankful to leave. I stayed in a 7 bed room which was just not clean, shabby, poor quality beds, a real mish mash of old/broken furniture and it really needed completely re-doing. My mattress was stained and really uncomfortable, sheets torn, etc. It just did not feel clean.

There were ants everywhere, but with Cairns you do tend to get insects all over the place so I kind of accepted that; however they did seem to have excessive numbers of ants and there was cockroach spray in the room (which another girl had said was used for cockroaches whilst she was there). There was a kitchen in the room but I never used it. You are supposed to get a free meal on your first night but I wasn't told about this on check in and forgot about it anyway.

It is a bit of a walk to the centre, but quite straightforward - just down a straight road really or the promenade.

Staff were quite friendly. They very much want good reviews only and ask you to not leave a bad review, to speak to them instead. But unfortunately if the place isn't up to scratch, I'm not about to not leave an honest review. The other good thing is that it's a relaxed place and I could store my bags there (though could only collect them when reception was open).

I'm comparing this to what I would call a decent hostel - such as most YHAs.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed here in March 2012 and were pleased with Globetrotters. The rooms were small and very basic but the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was very effective at night. All the staff were very helpful with booking tours, airport transfers and pizzas on a Tuesday night! The lounge area at Globetrotters is a triumph; there are 10 sofas on which people can relax and watch any of the 2 televisions (one of which has a PS3 with FIFA 12) or play on Gran Turismo 5 using a racing seat. The pool area and garden is great, and a new kitchen has just been fitted upstairs which is a welcome addition.

We had a twin room at 27 dollars per night per person and we felt this was great value.

Thanks Globetrotters.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I recently stayed in Cairns and stayed at Globetrotters. I arrived at 4.00am, well before check in but they were more than happy to let us in, have a shower lay out on one of the many lounges and chill until check in time. They even have free wifi which was awesome.
I stayed in a single room that had air con and comfortable and the toilets were very clean. They were in the middle of installing new kitchen areas/cookers too which are going to be excellent. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary,AB
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in a twin room next to the kitchen in the Red House, the only window in the room looked into the kitchen, and the air conditioning was on from 8pm to 8am. It was alright at night for the most part, but it was impossible to be inside during the day. The bed was clean and comfortable, but air conditioning filter had not been cleaned in months/years, it would blow small particles of dust over the bed at night which, which was quite disgusting.

The kitchens were small, and the fridges were not big enough for the size of the hostels, they were constantly leaking water from the bottoms because they were overworked. It was nearly impossible to find room for our food. We had to search back and forth between kitchens to find enough utensils to cook with, there were no bowls in one kitchen, and the other one had no frying pans. We managed, but one stove and one sink for 36 people per house is not enough. People may say they make up for this by supplying free breakfast every morning but a bowl of corn flakes is not for me. Things that they give for free and compensating for some big holes.

This hostel was trying to be better than it was, maybe they're attempting to improve, or maybe we hit it during an off time, but there were cards with rules everywhere, and they weren't enforcing any of them. It was also a fair trek to the downtown core, and supermarket, there are lots that are closer.

The lounge was excellent, the had four televisions with ample seating for everyone. The pool was nice, and the yard was excellent. They had two Playstation 3's set up, one with a full racing set up for gran turismo 3. It was a nice plus, but for the amount of money that was spent on those, I felt like they could have at least bought large enough fridges for the houses, or perhaps more than one stove per 30 people? The owners were very nice, and they were willing to help with anything we needed, the internet was free and quite fast. But Globetrotters International failed to impress us, it seemed they're money was spent on things that you see on the webpage, but failed to buy anything of real use.
I would rather have a proper fridge and a stove to make food, than a playstation three in a hostel...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I travelled everywhere in Australia and this was honestly the best hostel I stayed at. I would like to thank Brain and Linda for everything they did for me. They are a great family who run it so it has all the extra touches that other hostels don't.
Loved the free internet and the coffee in a morning from a real machine went down a treat. The lounge area is outstanding and the general atmosphere really made me feel at home. Pizza nights and poker nights were a great idea.
Would definately recommend this hostel to anybody.
Anybody below who has commented on the ants....This is the TROPICS people!!!!!!
Thank you for the most amazing stay there. I will always remember this hostel as it brought happy memories for my stay :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

thank you brian and linda you have made our cairns trip. excellent hostel with outstanding value for money. the common areas are always clean and more than one kitchen is very handy. your tour desk and local knowledge is second to none. execellant ac! brillant atmosphere, nice and chilled. feels like home! the big hostels could learn a thing or two from you! so good we are comin back in a week.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Address: 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globetrotters International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.