We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wink

Wink
Level 1, Mantra Hotel 53/57 The Esplanade | Cnr Spence and Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
07 4041 6346
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet place. Service staff seemed a little inexperienced but very friendly. The signature appetizer prawn avocado dish was very good. The rump steak was tough but the flavor was good. The fish of the day was good as was the braised cheeks. The kids ordered from the kids' menu - chicken fingers and pasta. They enjoyed it (10 & 12 yrs old). I think it was better than average (3.5 star) but not a 4.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    22
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“set menus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

not much to say...average food....below average service....staff were very casual....outside tables are ok...would not return...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food & great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had one of the best meals I've had in Cairns since moving here 2 yrs ago. I had the signature beef cheeks which were amazing. Can highly recommend this restaurant the service is perfect, the food incredible which creates a really pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An interesting NYE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Trying to find a restaurant on NYE that didn't have an expensive set menu was hard, but after a few emails back & forth, Wink 2 confirmed that there menu would be A La Carte. That was until we arrived on the night & we found that there was a set menu - however we we're able to choose if we wanted the 3 course set price or just a main meal from the (reduced) menu. Being NYE, I can understand the need to have a reduced menu. As it was, we waited two hours to receive our main meal (after asking where it was- something I NEVER do) & they dropped the half dozen oysters kilpatrick we ordered for entree, on the floor, so that took a very long time to arrive. Our dessert order was forgotten & we had to re-order that as well. All that being said - it was NYE - I used to be a waitress as well & I know how incredibly difficult it is on the busiest night of the year for things to run smoothly both on the floor & in the kitchen. The food - when it arrived - was to die for! The oysters were the best oysters I've tasted & the braised beef cheeks were very tender. The cherry chocolate cheesecake was very nice as well. The staff were very friendly & happy to please. I did have a discount voucher that said it was able to be used any time - but when I asked they said no, it was a misprint and couldn't be used on NYE. However, due to all the trouble we went through during the night - they honored the discount and our bill came in very reasonably priced.
I would be happy to return again as the food genuinely was THAT good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On our last night in Cairns we got lazy. We were too hot to walk far so opted for the restaurant in our hotel and chose the inside air conditioned section. Wink is on the first floor of the Mantra Esplanade. The staff were friendly and fun and professional without being obtrusive. Chef Leon was happy to let us mix the set and a la carte menus and we all enjoyed delicious well presented dishes which only left us wanting more - if we had had room! We enjoyed, among other things, a twice baked pear and cheese souffle, a very tasty scallop and chicken dish, a robust terrine, a melt-in-the-mouth 2 hour poached steak and an oh so pretty (and yummy) mango parfait with passionfruit. It was not hard to polish off 2 bottles of Pinot Gris and the total price at the end of a very enjoyable evening was money very well spent. As I am a new resident of Cairns, I shall be returning. And very soon..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wink also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Wink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.