We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brinsmead Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brinsmead Studios
Save Saved
You added Brinsmead Studios to your Saves list
16 Sun Street | Brinsmead, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A home away from home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We found this accomodation through trip advisor after reading various reviews - we have just returned from an 8 night stay over xmas and new year and what can I say, it more than justifies a 5/5 score. Sue is incredible, we had lots of free range eggs, various cakes and fresh fruit! We will go back one day and if your looking for a relaxing getaway this comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have stayed here for the second time this year. The studio is impeccably clean, and has everything you could possibly need. The pool is lush and so refreshing after a hot day. Sue is just amazing, so helpful without being invasive. She really makes the stay something special. The beds are lovely and comfortable and there are two excellent parks nearby if you do bring your dog. Highly recommend this place, a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I found Brinsmead Studios on the internet and they certainly looked very good. The actuality was even better. Sue, the owner, was very considerate of wanting to make sure that everything was just perfect for our stay. Her hospitality is something to be experienced! She was very friendly and welcoming, even providing many treats such as fresh free range eggs from her own chooks, to home grown fruit and even home baked cakes! The studio itself was very comfortable, all needs catered for and we felt ourselves relaxing from the moment of our arrival. Certainly recommend this studio to others. Our thanks to Sue for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It took me ages to find an accommodation to stay in Cairns. There were a lot of hotels but I wanted to stay in holiday house and there were not many with an affordable price. I found Brinsmead Studios through http://www.cairnsholidayhomes.com.au and that was great! I stayed Brinsmead Studios with my parents for 5 nights. I was a bit worried about staying 3 adult in one room but beds were comfortable and the room were big enough for 3. The kitchen got loads of utensils and basically got everything for cooking. Sue the host was a great host and very welcoming. Brinsmead Studios had good access to Fresh water station if you want to catch a Kuranda train and it was closer to Port douglas. I was very very lucky that I could stay at Brinsmead Studios. Thank you Sue and Lizzie!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullewa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Sue,s beautifull studio for 2 weeks. My 2 boys, wife and me were blown away by the hospitality and warm hearted hostess, that welcomed us into her home. Sue had everything perfect for our arrival and during the stay she was always there to make sure we were, absolutely enjoying our stay. The studio is so conveniently close to the city and all mayor tourist activies in Cairns, but also private enough to let you relax in the lush tropical garden or the clean warm pool in the evening after a hectic day of sight seeing. The studio had all the luxuries of home right at youre fingertips. Its 2 weeks that we will never forget and Brinsmead studio 2 has been like a home to us. Do youreself a favour and book a holiday at Sue,s place right now! Youle LOVE it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was a fantastic place for us to stay with our old dog "misty" as we had just moved from down south and couldn't move into our own place for a couple of weeks. Sue was a very gracious host and couldn't ask for better. Everything was at your finger tips. It was a truly wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone. Thank you Sue!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We began our journey through Queensland in august 2012 in Cairns and it was just perfect to stay at the Brinsmead Studios. Our host Sue was very welcoming and helpful – providing us not only with fruits from her beautiful tropical garden, but also with other delights (thanks for the delicious banana-bread!) and many useful informations.
The bigger studio, in which we stayed, is very spacious and charmingly decorated in old style. It has a separate bedroom and bathroom and a big livingroom combined with the kitchen. The kitchen has everything we could wish for and the deck outside is really comfortable. As we are birdwatchers we especially liked the big garden with many birds in it – e.g. the Olive-backed Sunbirds and the Spangled Drongos very close.
We can definitely recommend the studio!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brinsmead Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinsmead Studios

Address: 16 Sun Street | Brinsmead, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the ground floor of a charming old Queenslander house, Brinsmead Studios are a well priced accommodation choice when visiting Cairns and the surrounding area. Each studio has limited kitchen facilities including a hob, microwave and fridge, laundry, en-suite bathroom, sitting room with TV, decked area for outdoor dining, use of a BBQ and access to a beautiful pool in a well-kept tropical garden. All linen supplied. 3 guests max in each studio. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brinsmead Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.