We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Cairns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Moonta, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you want to stay in Cairns and can put up with luxury, magnificent views and being close to everything, shops, restaurants, tours etc. then this is the place to be. The apartment had everything that opens and shuts plus more including a kitchen suitable to cook for a dinner party if required. The property managers and staff could not do enough for us and made our stay even more welcoming by ensuring that our every need was met, nothing too big or small. Everything was in walking distance and the views were amazing from the balcony. An absolutely wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
201
43
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rural Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights before and two nights after our liveaboard. Both apartments (three bedrooms) were beautiful with great views. They were extremely clean, overall well-equipped (we cooked several nights), and the staff were very flexible with early morning departures. We were able to walk to the docks, walk to dinner, walk to the store--I really can't imagine a better location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The apartment was very comfortable and we were within walking distance of the city attractions as well as the supermarket. The managers David and Joelette were very helpful and arranged transfers and trips when needed. It was our first trip to Cairns an we plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

These apartments were very nice. We rented a three bedroom unit for 7 days while we were there attending our oldest daughter's wedding. Everything went without a hitch, conveniently located, great view of the harbor. The property managers were very nice. It was wonderful to have kitchen facilities, laundry facilities, and spacious floor plan so we didn't feel cramped at all. So much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great stay at Jack & Newell. Before arriving I received an email confirming my stay and offering me the opportunity to organise an airport transfer. We were made very welcome when we arrived and were given an extra key upon request. The view from our balcony was amazing and the furniture was very comfortable. We were withing comfortable walking distance from the lagoon, the shops and the boat terminal. We did find it a little noisy as one night there were renovations going on and also the bats were very noisy. However, overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Take an apartment high up on the water side for an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you're looking for a centrally located self contained apartment, look no further. With walking distance into Cairns City, directly across from the wharf and esplanade, extremely helpful managers, with a vast knowledge of Cairns and tours. Couldn't ask for anything more. We absolutely loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at Jack and Newell based on the high rating in Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Basically you are staying in a serviced apartment in a normal secure apartment building.

We were upgraded to a water view 2 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor. The place was a real home away from home - clean, tidy and equipped with everything you need for a self catered stay.

The location is great - about 5 mins walk to the lagoon and the cruise terminal. Restaurants, supermarkets etc are all very close. There is onsite parking.

David who manages the hotel is absolutely brilliant - some of the best service we have ever received. Even before we got there we had had to postpone our visit when my mum got ill. We got a refund no questions asked and a discount on the new booking. Once we got there, David made sure we had everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble. He even gave my daughter a sun hat when she lost hers. A top bloke and a great host.

The only flaws and these are just minor things - the disinfectant used around the place has a bit of an aircraft toilet feel about it, some of the decorative items did not feel very childsafe and the checkout time of 10 am is quite early.

If you are looking for a bargain or total luxury, this is not the right place. Otherwise for a midrange self catered family stay it is hard to go past jack and newell

Room Tip: Look for a high floor with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our apartments are all spacious with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and a pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.