We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and terrific hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay and terrific hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our stay at the Jack and Newell was a real delight with the hosts David, Joelette and Chris making us feel welcome right from the first time we walked in the door.

The apartment was very well appointed with all of the things that you need to make you feel at home. It was very spacious, spotlessly clean and easy to settle in to. The free wifi was simple to set up and get going. It had a great view looking over the harbour and we were able to sit outside on the spacious balcony which had a good size table and chairs to have meals outside.

The location was very handy being close to the center of town and everything was within an easy walking distance. The are plenty of restaurants a short stroll away. It is also far enough away from the center so that we didn't have the noise from the State of Origin celebrations!

Dave, Joelette and Chris deserve a special mention as they are fantastic hosts. The amount of local information Dave knows is a real time and money saver when you are ready to explore Cairns and the surrounding areas.

The Jack and Newell has been the best place we have stayed in a long, long time.

Room Tip: We had the Waterview apartment which is what this review is based on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
190
38
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were welcomed by David who was very friendly and very helpful with his local knowledge. Our room was exactly what we ordered and was a very spacious size - great for families. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable apartments. Thanks so much for the feedback and we look forward to having you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

great accommodation would stay there again every thing was great no complaints nice people who run the place great views the best accommodation I have ever stayed in will be staying there again next year when I go back up in june 2014 thanking you for a great stay will see you again next year dave boyle

Room Tip: great everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well equipped apartment in great location near waterfront, shops and bars. We had a 3 bedroomed apartment and all rooms were lovely with a comfortable and spacious communal sitting/dining area. The owner was extremely helpful and made very useful suggestions.

Room Tip: We chose the 'no view' for a budget option but could still see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the hotel with a stunning comfortable apartment with two bedrooms and showers for 5 days. The host,David, was a great source of information and assistance. We had gorgeous views of the river and ship terminal and could walk to anywhere in five to ten minutes. Cooking facilities were great and made going out to dinner a difficult choice. Will return next time Thank you

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband traveled here for our one year anniversary. We booked a one bedroom apartment with a balcony. When we arrived the size of the room surpassed any expectations. It was huge! Full kitchen, dining area and nice sized living room. Bedroom and attached bathroom were very spacious as well. The balcony looked directly over the water and again was a very nice size. Easily could fit 10-12 people out there. The best part though was the staff. They were so accommodating and friendly and actually helped plan all of our excursions. Would highly recommend this place. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Jack and Newell apartments with a mate to compete in the Cairns Ironman. The 2 bedroom apartment was very clean, spacious with a large balcony overlooking the harbour, mountains and rainforest beyond. We used the well equipped kitchen to cook meals and found a number of coffee shops and restaurants close by as well. Thanks to David for a great stay and we particularly liked the triathlon funny stories and jokes which were displayed each morning in the lift. Would definitely recommend to all and would love to stay again if I'm ever back up in Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our apartments are all spacious with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and a pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.