We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - they do live up to their reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Canberra
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent service - they do live up to their reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a lovely few days in Cairns with partner and 11-year old. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in this complex and it did offer everything we needed. It is true what people say on trip advisor that the management of these apartments do go the 'extra mile' for clients. Thank you particularly to David for taking care of us on the last night. I did like that these apartments were close enough to the esplanade for a 5-10 min walk, but far enough away from the madness itself - which meant it was peaceful.

Room Tip: Above level 4 if you can then the balconies seem to be glass which would be nicer. There is constru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks so much for providing your feedback. We have a great location here with just an easy stroll to most needs including shopping, dining and the CBD attractions. The construction of the park is now complete and this area creates a beautiful aspect to the great views from each apartment. Thanks again for the time you spent doing a review we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
179
36
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here in October for a week, myself, hubby and 2 teenage boys, absolutely loved the apartment, spotlessly clean and spacious with fantastic views!
Yes, as discussed before with other reviewers there is work going on right in front of the apartments, but as we were up and out every morning anyway seeing and doing all we could while in the area this wasnt a problem for us!
David - thank you so much for all your help in finding the best tours to do, especially the Reef, a little local knowledge definately goes a long way!! And I dont know how you do it, but always remembering all our names every time we saw you, impressive!
Free wifi is such a novelty, first I have come across in our travels.
Great location, easy walking distance to everything you could possibly want in Cairns but quiet at the same time
Have already recommended these apartments to friends, and if we are ever back in Cairns, will be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate you leaving your feedback, thank you. We enjoy helping people plan their holiday and as therte is a multitude of different experiences it is great to be able to find solutions to fit each guest's individual needs. we find it helps people enjoy their holidays so much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Free wifi in the rooms (the only hotel on our Australia trip where we found free wifi). David at the front desk greeted us by name daily and was able to get us discounts on tours, beach towels, and a shopping cart to use to get groceries. The room was large and well equipped. And the kitchen in the apartment allowed us to cook a few meals which saved us a lot of money.

And I loved the Flying Foxes (large fruit bats) flying overhead in downtown Cairns at sunset.

Room Tip: View of the marina is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
The free WiFi is very popular. As we have individual WiFi connections in each room there is normally a really good speed.The full kitchen in every apartment certainly offers a good oportunity to save some money by self catering and why not. With such magnificent views from the balcony no better place to eat. Thanks so much for leaving a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for 7 nights during October, our apartment was well catered for and extremely clean.Dave and Joelette the managers were really friendly,knowledgeable in regards to trips and local areas of interest and very helpful when it came to assisting us with car hire.The car hire firm picked us up from the apartment and also collected the car when we had finished with it, really good service and reasonably priced. The facitilities were all close to hand and within reasonable walking distances, shops,pubs,restaurants, lagoon etc made it an easy and enjoyable stay. I agree with the other reviewers though that the noise from the building works opposite made it difficult to sleep in.When it is completed though the boardwalk and terminal will be a good attraction. Overall a great place to stay and I have already recommended it to friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay. The car companies we use provide a great service delivering a car to you here and then picking it up when you are done. It is a great convenience. The park construction is now finished and adds a great aspect to the magnificent views. Thanks for taking the time to leave you thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor in October 2012.
2x adults and 1x 6 year old.
David & Joelette were wonderful hosts. They were very friendly and helpful and also have a cupboard full of toys, games, books and dvd's which my daughter loved and swapped daily.
The apartment was spotless. Everything you could possibly need and more and to a very high standard. Much larger than expected and the spa bath was a lovely surprise. We also made use of the pool, gym and secure parking.
We had a fantastic view and although they was some construction over the road it wasn't a problem as we were out during the day and they had always finished for the day before we returned. Also when that area is finished it will be a fantastic public space especially for guests with children.
The location is perfect, a short walk to the city, restaurants, bars, casino, waterfront etc.
We will definately stay again when we next visit Cairns

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The views are great and now that the construction is finished the park is open for use and the playground is fantastic for the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 12 nights here in a well appointed and spotless apartment overlooking the harbour and handily located close to shops, marina, Esplanade, Lagoon, Casino and eateries. We were in a three bedroom, 11th floor apartment and although externally it can be occasionally noisy (you are in a large town) the view was fantastic and we spent many evenings dining on the balcony. If you are looking at doing any excursions I would recommend contacting Dave (manager) prior to booking as he has some great local knowledge and didn't steer us wrong on any occasion. Our apartment was fully air conditioned and had ceiling fans in all rooms while the complex has a private pool and gym facilities.

Room Tip: the higher the better to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It is very satisfying to us to see guests immerse themselves in their holiday and really enjoy and experience it. The balance between relaxation and tours/sightseeing is sometimes difficult to achieve and we enjoy being able to assist with this. It was great to see you have an enjoyable holiday and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirribilli, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

During October 2012, our family (2 adults/2 children) stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 5th floor facing Wharf St. The Terminal in front of our apartment is undergoing construction, at least until the end of October, and the noise from the construction site can be distracting if you want to spend time during the day on the balcony. The construction site extends and affects several apartments blocks and Hotels along Wharf St. The apartment we stayed in was very spacious, well maintained and equipped. It is very central and an easy walk to facilities and places of interest, David, the Resident manager, was more than helpful during our trip - his advice on things to do and places to see was always given with our best interests in mind and made our trip very enjoyable and memorable. Based on our experience we would recommend the Jack & Newell apartments to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help achieve that. We look forward to being able to accommodate you next time you visit Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our apartments are all spacious with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and a pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.