We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Lodge Motel

Tropicana Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Tropicana Lodge Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   158C Martyn Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Ayr
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Regular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hi I'm quiet a regular at this hotel staff always friendly always clean and tidy. I have stayed there when international students have been there they are welcome well mannered and respectful I will continue to stay here when get chance

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here with some friends over the long weekend, was pleasantly surprised. It had everything we needed at a very affordable price. The family rooms were massive and handy to everything. There was a BBQ, games room, volley beach court, and a cold pool to beat the hot day. The rooms have been renovated as everything looked newish. The managers and Shirley on the desk provided plenty of information, and made us feel welcome, will be staying here again and for a fraction of the city hotels. I must add we stayed here some years ago it was a bit run down but cheap. Its still cheap but much more stylish and heaps more to do on site. Well done Tropicana. We all loved it.

Room Tip: Family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gearo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked 2 rooms and was advised there would be light breakfast included. We turned up to the breakfast hall only to be humiliated by the owner and told our deal didn't include breakfast he was rude,arrogant and acted like a massive jerk. We will be checking out today. The hotel is like a school camp and room is like a dorm. Beyond basic. We will be checking out today

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Country-lover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tr0picanal0dgem0tel, Manager at Tropicana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Sorry to here about your experience at TLM. As you may not be aware we have been providing clean,secure affordable accommodation packages to various students (overseas,local,interstate) and school groups for over 83 years whom often are on tight budgets and don`t regularly see the odd family traveler whom think they can just help themselves to breakfast buffet. Meal options are only available with large group bookings whom often stay for several months of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Hotel should be closed down, built in the 60s and not much has changed, its not fit to put a dog in. Room was dirty, floors not clean, furniture & bed filthy. Thanks to a helpful manager who said she was shocked at the state of the room. (think she must get shocked a lot) we got all our money back & moved to Sheridan Plaza for an extra $100 for two nights. Do not stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Pick another Motel or Hotel, there are lots to choose from!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tr0picanal0dgem0tel, Manager at Tropicana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
As we where near full ocupancy with one of our regular training organisations whom use our facilities 7 months of the year,this room is not generally availble to the public.No excuse it was not up to our normal standards and there where small areas over seen by our house keeping team. MY sincere applogises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a place I would really rather forget I stayed in. As the previous reviewer said the female staff person can be really abrasive.

They seem to have overcome the internet problem. Beds are very hard,decor is right out of the 50s to mid 60s but it is clean. This place often has indigenous people staying who like to drink outside,talk smoke and be loud. Ideal if you like that sort of thing.

It is a far away from any place to eat. A good 30 mins walk to centre of town.

There isnt much to really recommend this place.Seems the government puts a lot of people in this place as its cheap.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and walking shoes and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

I booked this room online and was told by e-mail that I was to be in one room and that it would be open. When I arrived, this room was occupied by someone else and no e-mail was sent to advise me of the change. There was no internet access in the room (as advertised) which was my primary reason for booking to stay there. The motel is far from any restaurants or shops so after a late arrival I decided to order pizza. I could not even do this as the phone was disabled. Upon buzzing the manager, I was told that I had to provide a $20 deposit to use the phone (although they had my credit card details), however I could not do this until morning as reception was closed (since 6 PM unbelievably!). She suggested a nearby payphone but as I had just arrived in the country I had no coins either. Her response was "Not my problem, mate." Clearly taking 5 minutes to ensure I had a meal after 14 hours of travelling was just too much to ask for. I have never been treated so rudely in 31 countries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kats-tale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I stayed a night here on my way to Perth and was very very happy with the state of the room I was in. There was not a speck of dust anywhere, the linen - of which there was spare stored in the room, and extra pillows, was crisp and clean, and comfortable. There was lots of towels, soap and loo roll. A sealed jug of cold water in the fridge, cookies, coffee, tea, milk, clean glasses, coffee cups - in fact one cold not ask for more! The room was quiet and I felt secure. There was a pool available, but it is wet season, so just walking around outside is enough to get soaked :)
A desk area for your laptop etc with good placement of electric sockets, a microwave, and once again, very clean.

I recommend this place and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#23 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#57 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#44 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#49 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.8 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#24 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lodge Motel

Address: 158C Martyn Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Lodge Motel is owned by Young Australia League Inc, an organisation that has been supporting Australia’s youth since 1908. The motel has 37 rooms,7 wheelchair accessible rooms,and 4 self-contained rooms.We also have 64 seat dining room,two conference rooms,business centre,internet lounge and games room.Our facilities also include a beach vollyball court,bbq,sun sheltered pool and basketball hoop.We have on site parking with free wifi.Some organisations that frequently use our services are,Australian School Camps Association,Mining Companies,Tafe Colleges,Queensland Health,Church organisations,Sporting organisations,and the Australian Defence Force. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tropicana Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing