We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Cairns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hanuman Restaurant - CLOSED

The Hanuman Restaurant
34 Esplanade | at the Hilton Cairns Hotel, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
07 4052 6786
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated inside the Hilton Cairns Hotel and overlooking the Trinity Inlet, Hanuman Cairns is the latest addition to the Hanuman stable.Gently undulating panels cast curves of light and shade across the restaurant's entrance, creating an exotic and luxuriant mood. The rich, dark tones in the furnishings combine with intriguing artworks and ceramics that Jimmy has collected throughout south-east Asia.A visit to Hanuman Cairns will tantalise all the senses before wowing the taste buds as only Hanuman can.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have eaten at Hanuman's Cairns, Alice Springs and Darwin and on my return to Cairns this week I enjoyed another fabulous meal at Hanuman's. Service exceptional with our waitress only to happy to please and accommodate gluten free requirements for one of our guests. We ordered the banquet which had an abundance of food and variety on offer and at the last minute the waitress liaised with chef to accommodate a gluten free dessert. Highly recommend this restaurant with food, ambiance and service of a very high standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Louise 77

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Jimmy Shu and the Hanuman team. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with just great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had company Christmas dinner here, thought in Hilton, it gonna be an expensive restaurant, turned out, It wasn't! Price just so reasonable to make people amazing if it is from such great restaurant in 5 stars hotel!

Foods just amazing~ almost every dishes just incredibly great! We enjoy everything and the most beautiful dinner ever in Cairns.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Peggy Y
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Jimmy Shu and the Hanuman team. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went here for a work do last week. They dealt very well with a crowd. Food was exceptional quality and taste. Presentation was good too. Red duck curry was delicous, nonya pork rolls were very tasty. Good wine too and good service. Atmosphere pleasant. Would come again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear valued customer
Thank you very much for reviewing us via tripadvisor, your positiv feedback is greatly appreciated,
i hope we can welcome you back in the near future,
Kind Regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The food is DIVINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Amazing ambience, location, but most importantly the food is heavenly. My favourite is the whole barramundi, and butter chicken. we go there at least every 2 weeks !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Shaneel_Shastri
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Jimmy Shu and the Hanuman team. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Do your tastebuds a favour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice ambiance & feel to this restaurant. Service was excellent, although it wasn’t terribly busy on a Sunday night. We went with some recommendations from the waitress who was very pleasant. The food came without delay and the flavours were out of this world. Reasonably priced food, although the wines were a little expensive. Overall, I would eat here again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear GlenBo62
Thanki you very much for your kind words when reviewing Hanuman Restaurant Cairns via trip advisor, i hope we can welcome you back soon,
regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hanuman Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.