We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and true Aussie hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Food Trail Tours

Food Trail Tours
PO Box 112, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4032 0322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 133 Activities in Cairns
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This FOOD, WINE and RAINFOREST TOUR explores Wet Tropics Rainforest while discovering what regional food and wine producers have to offer. Travel off the beaten path, onto local farms, hear the stories behind the foods and tantalise your taste-buds, with tropical fruit wines, cheeses, chocolate, coffee, and macadamia nuts. The day includes visits to the Atherton Tablelands rainforest at Lake Barrine and the Curtain Fig Tree, as well as a lunch, farm tours, tastings, park fees and transfers from Cairns and the Northern Beaches.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic value and true Aussie hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

So glad we left the hire car behind and took this all day tour. Coach Captain Warwick is extremely friendly, knowledgable and went out of his way to make our group feel comfortable and familiar with each other. We saw so many things, tasted many foods and learnt so much about the local terrain. The day was excellent from start to finish and the farmers were friendly and generous with their samples. Don't hesitate to do this tour, it's fantastic and the very best value for money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wok-Cairns, Owner at Food Trail Tours, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
The "Coach Captain", ha! ha! would like to say thank you very much for joining the tour, and "leaving the hire car behind". I love it when I here that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Day Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Thank-you Warrick for such a geat day. Loved all the tastings at the various places we visited and the lunch was very yummy too! It was such a pity that the weather was wet but I couldn't think of a btter thing to do on a rainy day in Cairns.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wok-Cairns, Owner at Food Trail Tours, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Glad to hear you "couldn't think of a better thing to do on a rainy day". April's still the wet season, but as you saw it doesn't effect us too much. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth WA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is an excellent tour from start to finish, suitable for tourists and a great day out for locals too. Warwick is extremely friendly and knowledgable and his constant dialogue is welcome and not annoying, like some tours are. I really enjoyed all the places we visited and the terrain is so diverse it feels like being in four different countries in a day. I am a new local and only recently moved to FNQ from Perth, I will be highly recommending this tour to my visitors and will probably go again myself.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

What a great day! I loved that this wasn't the typical tour, it puts you in touch with true Australian farmers and foodists who all have unique things to share. The tour guide was extremely informative and friendly, and so much is packed into one day- it's a great value for your money. I cannot say enough good things, you have to go and see for yourself!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hubby and I recently did this tour and really enjoyed the day. Warwick our guide is a true character and kept up the jokes, facts and banter all day. The good thing about this tour is that you go to some of the smaller operators and actually meet the people who have the hands on day to day running of their business. The lunch was delicious as was afternoon tea! We bought yummy things from each place we went and are looking forward to our first glass of Tropical Temptation.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wok-Cairns, Owner at Food Trail Tours, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Lucystarbuck,
Thanks for your great review. The food and meeting a few of the locals is what it's all about. I appreciate that you identified with both those aspects.
Also thanks for making us your first contribution on Trip Advisor.

Happy travels
Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Trail Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Food Trail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food Trail Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.