We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience with professional staffs on board!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Down Under Cruise & Dive

Down Under Cruise & Dive
287 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
07 4052 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #38 of 116 activities in Cairns
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Down Under Cruise & Dive, formerly ‘Down Under Dive’, is Cairns' oldest and most respected Great Barrier Reef operator and PADI Diver Training Facility.Our white-boat style high speed vessel ‘Osprey 5’ runs snorkel, dive & helicopter tours to the Outer Great Barrier Reef daily. While at our world-class 5-star training facilities we offer Beginner ‘PADI Learn to Dive’ courses through to professional level diver training.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great experience with professional staffs on board!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

One of the things you must do while you are in Cairns! Down Under cruise and dive has a very professional team that provides you all the assistance you need!

The trip started at 8am and we hit our first diving spot by around 11am. We got to do both snorkeling and scuba diving! Although there were lots of people on board, we didn't feel left out and got to enjoy the most of our time!

Food was plenty! Tea and coffee were served, biscuits and cheese, a glass of complementary white wine, great bbq and lots of delicious salads for lunch! The prices on board were very reasonable! U can also rent waterproof camera and waterproof case for your phones if you want!

In the afternoon, you get to choose whether you want to have a second dive or not! Unfortunately, the visibility in the sea wasn't perfect that day, but I really enjoyed doing a longer dive with a professional diver leading the way!

Overall, it was an awesome experience and I would definitely recommend this to everyone who is in Cairns!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    36
    21
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cramped and Crabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a beautiful day and boated to two sites on the GBR to dive and snorkel. The water was clear so we saw lots of fish. However, we found the ship to be tight, food selection seemingly limited as we were told "no seconds till all divers are out of the water". We also found a couple crew members to be rude and impatient, publicly calling out and humiliating customers who missed instructions. There are so many other options, I would not choose this outing again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a fantastic cruise to the GBR in Osprey V with a most attentive crew: we felt our safety was very much the crew's concern and they did everyting possible to ensure we all had a good time. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the glass bottom boat ride with "Elvis" and his singing on the way home - he has a great voice. People told me they had booked with Osprey V because the crew looked after children of all ages so well - they certainly did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2012 solar Eclipse cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a fantastic time on board the solar eclipse cruise with Dive down under.
The captain and his crew were amazing in ensuring this once in a lifetime experience was enjoyed by everyone on board.
The breakfast rolls rocked as well!

Many thanks for beating the clouds and ensuring our trip for England to watch the eclipse was worth it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the reef....but not the service!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Even though the GBR is a beautiful place and I had a nice time swimming around it I am only giving this tour company an average review based on its service. It seemed they squeezed as many people onto the boat as they could, room was limited and getting in and out of the water was slow and awkward. I saw other boats on the reef that day that looked like they had less people on board and wished I had booked with them. The safety briefing was given to us by a guy who could barely speak English, this is unacceptable given there was plenty of Australian crew members!! The food was decent and lots to go around but the free wine offered was just cheap goon and pretty much undrinkable. The entertainment at the end of the day was cheesy and maybe aimed at an older group. I think for the amount of people on board the price could have been cheaper! All in all, this group will get you to the good spots on the reef which you should enjoy, but maybe there are better companies in Carins who could do it better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Under Cruise & Dive also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Down Under Cruise & Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Down Under Cruise & Dive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Down Under Cruise & Dive to your Saves list