We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tha Fish Seafood Restaurant

Tha Fish Seafood Restaurant
Pier Point Road, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
07 4041 5350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Warwick, Australia
1 review
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We dined here tonight, our first night in Cairns and it certainty set a high bar for the rest of our stay. Ben was a fantastic host and the food was sensational. Duck spring rolls...crispy whole barra and the platter for 1 were all 10 out of 10...although it was the charm of manager ben that really sets this place apart. We aren't in cairns for long but we will be back at tha fish again...maybe even tomorrow night!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    134
    45
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, service and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We often call into Tha Fish for the $20 lunch special which includes a generous main and a glass of wine/bubbles or beer, plus, the million dollar views of the marina and mountains are free.

We've been for dinner a couple of times too and they do a fantastic whole, baby Barramundi.

We have always found the service to be fast and friendly and hence we keep going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had the set menu. Great tasty food and good service nice locations. If you want a good meal Tha fish is a great place to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

the soft shell crab was delish staff and service was good. good location One of the best resturants in cairns

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simply scrumptious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We dined at the restaurant last night and wasn't disappointed. My sister chose the clam chowder with corn and fresh crab and I had the pear cider battered coral trout.

The chowder was delicious and the trout, whilst battered, was very moist and tasty.

The menu, as one would expect from the name, is based around seafood and there is a reasonable selection to choose from and all sounded wonderful. It was hard to make our choices from what was available.

The staff are friendly and helpful, appearing when you need them and not continually pestering you will inane questions like "how is everything?" over and over again.

The restaurant is well located and dining outside was a pleasant experience. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is situated in the complex that consists of other restaurants, shops and the Shangri-La Hotel where we were staying. This meant we could charge our meal back to our room and pay when we checked out. Very convenient as other restaurants located in Cairns itself didn't offer this.

If you decide to dine here I would recommend booking as it was very busy the night we went and we didn't want to miss out.

This isn't the first time I have eaten at Tha Fish and it certainly wont be the last!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tha Fish Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tha Fish Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tha Fish Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.