We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   191 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in a two bedroom apartment.

The apartment was a good size, there is a well equipped kitchen, a dining area and a lounge area with a tv.

I was impressed by how comfortable the beds were, providing a great nights sleep.

The bathroom is a good size and also houses a washing machine and clothes drier.


I would happily recommend a stay here, they would make a great base for exploring the region.

The manager was extremely friendly and helpful, and a great source of information.




  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for the great words. Glad to hear you loved our new Sealy beds, we have been getting lots of great feedback regarding them from guests.
We are very pleased to have been able to help you out and assist you with our local knowledge as the amount of tours available can be overwhelming if you do not know what is what.
Book direct with us for the best prices if you want to return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancefield, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently had a 'flying' visit Cairns and Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments provided us with every need. The apartments are functional, comfortable and very clean. It was wonderful to kick back by the pool and simply enjoy the surrounds. Excellent location for walking along the famous Cairns Esplanade and great base to explore the beautiful Northern Beaches. Well done Wayne and Linda on running a very tidy operation. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed one of our many newly refurbished units we have been working soo hard on for the last 3 years not to mention our huge swiming pool.
When you return for another holiday in Cairns, just book direct for the best price and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I would stay again, the room was nice, my girlfriend, mum and I went up to cairns from brisbane now i knew this wasn't going to be any hilton, But. everyone was saying the beds are very nice to sleep on, but we didn't find this the bed was very hard woke up with a sore back every morning. The air con wasn't working very well in the rooms they would turn off at like 2 am and i would woke up sweating at around 2:30am every morning and had to turn it back on I don't know if the was management or not. there was a white box next to every air con with a sensor so I don't know what that is for The air con in the living room never got cold couldn't use the pool after 9pm and up north it is never cold for people who don't live up there so it would have been nice to be able to use the pool later on . also I was reading the room info booklet, and it stated the management could come into the room and turn the air con off if it was left on when you weren't there, when we went out we opened up to room without the air con on and it was so hot in the room and took a very long time to cool down just a little I don't know if it was because of the air con not working or maybe that the air cons need to be serviced

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you found our refurbished apartment nice, but as you say we are no comparison to the Hilton at all, totally different style and classification of accommodation, incomparable.
Nearly all of the issues you encountered could have easily been fixed if immediately reported and that would have made your stay much more enjoyable. We are budget friendly accommodation, no bells and whistles but far superior than a lot of others in the same price range.
As for airconditioners, yes the apartment you stayed in had an airconditioner fault reported by the next guest after you, verified and fixed the same day within hours of being reported, but in no way does management turn an airconditioner off in the middle of the night. The boxes you mention next to the airconditioner will, DAY TIMES ONLY, turn the airconditioner off ONLY when there is NO ONE HOME in the apartment to save power to keep accommodation costs down for everyone, and work very well, and we have never yet until now had a complaint about them as many people leave airconditioners on all day when they go out so these turn it off automatically. I believe the aircon fault attributed to them turning off. Rooms normally take about 5 minutes to get cool once they are switched on as we have very efficient modern airconditioners.
As for the pool hours, 7am-9pm, these are set by the body corporate and in line with majority of other hotels and suit the majority of our guests. Being near the pool as you were, I bet you would not want kids jumping in, running around and people having a party in the pool area at midnight when you are trying to sleep. This is why hotels have set pool hours, so people can have a good nights sleep, goto bed early and get up early for their adventures and have an energy filled day and not be tired.
Look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Myself and two of my family members were fortunate enough to stay at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments for 12 nights during our trip to Cairns and found it to be a fantastic experience.

Wayne (hotel management) was extremely pleasant to deal with and provided much valued local knowledge of tours and the best possible days to make bookings (in relation to weather conditions and availability etc). Booking your tours and hire cars through Tradewinds also helped to qualify for discounts that we were not available through the likes of information centres in town.

The rooms were very spacious and contained everything you could possibly require for a fully self-contained apartment. The only thing which we noticed (once some people moved into the room above us) was the moving/scraping of chairs across the tile floors making a fair amount of noise (this could easily be fixed by placing small spots of felt on the chair legs though). Aside from that small factor the rooms were fantastic!

The location of the hotel was great as there was a small convenience store and various food outlets literally right across the road or simply a short walk away. The walk into town was a decent length but we quite enjoyed getting a little exercise whilst on holiday and having the pool at the hotel to cool off in after our walk was a definite bonus!

We also found the availability of secure parking at the hotel very convenient - especially considering any concerns people may have in relation to hire cars and possible damage which could occur if you were forced to park on the verge.

I'd like to thank Wayne for his fantastic service and hospitality throughout our stay and wish him all the best in the running of the hotel - we hope to return again some day!

Room Tip: If you are able to book early enough to get a room on the ground floor this could be beneficial as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your great review, it was a pleasure to assist you daily in your adventures around Cairns and we are glad we could be of great assistance for you. Look forward to one day seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semaphore, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having not been to Far North Queensland before, I needed a good "base camp" to explore the region. Tradewinds McLeod is on the edge of Cairns and North Cairns which was either a short bus trip or a walk down the Esplanade to the CBD.
The Apartment had everything I needed for a stress-free 6 day stay. The Staff were helpful and easy to get hold of, the facilities were well maintained and clean and the whole place was locked up at night with swipe card access. Having seen lots of anti-social behavior around the CBD, I found this reassuring.
Every room had a split-system aircond and ceiling fan which meant a quick recovery from the tropical heat and the kitchen was better equipped than my home. It was a bit wasted with me though because of the wide array of take-away one street over.
The combined bathroom and laundry was obviously recently renovated and everything was there, including the tumble dryer, iron and clothes drying rack. This is essential when trying to keep clothes clean and fresh during the humid wet season. I shudder to think what this would cost in a hotel.
Personally, I won't be looking any further for accommodation in Cairns. This place is "blue-chip" in an Industry that has many Operators that are focused on the "fast buck."

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room with no problems to report. All rooms are similarly configured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The apartment was quite basic as we expected it to be, however, it was very clean and contained everything we needed. The location was a good 20 minutes walk from town but again we knew this prior to booking. We received excellent service from Wayne and his wife throughout our stay and they could not have been more helpful. He booked all our trips for us and advised us which ones would best suit our needs. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have lived here for 3 days with my family, in the middle of this apparment, there was a pool which makes it seems beautiful, I like this pool, anyway, in the day time, it is peace and nice. But during our second night, maybe after 1:00am, we were awoke up by loud noise which come from the apparment nearby. someone was in quarreling and fighting, it last about half an hour and then the police was coming and breaking into the apparment. These made us feel that it not so safe here. We also heared that someone broken their car's window when theyparking outside. And the service here also seemed not so good. The man in receptions didn't kind and treated us not so good then we in other hotels.We nearly not got any useful information from him. The bad also too soft for us and made the pain in the low-back.

Room Tip: pool is good, but not so safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Sorry about the bad experience you had. This was a very rare unfortunate and isolated incident that could happen anywhere, first of its kind here in the 4 years we have managed this hotel. What happened was one person came back with a drunk friend and he did not let him in the unit and he was banging on the door and tried to get in, no damage at all done. We will not tolerate this behaviour here. We called police to attend to remove this drunk person when I saw him camping outside his friends unit 5 minutes later after he had passed out drunk. At no time did police break into any unit or even enter a unit, they simply came, took him away and that was it. The people in the unit were dealt with the following morning and asked to leave the resort for good as we will not have this behaviour here. No there were no car windows broken in this complex for sure. We have CCTV all around, there is no way we will miss an incident like that, no glass anywhere on the ground either.
We try our best to keep the complex safe, our little kids also live in here with lots of other guests kids. We never had any issues apart from this isolated event so far, no thefts, no break-ins, the hotel is completely fenced off and only guests with access cards can enter the front gates after dark. We welcome anyone to discuss with us directly if they have any safety concerns, we will do our best to improve it straight away and make you feel safe if you do not.
But we are glad you had no other complaints and the refurbished apartment must have been satisfactory as was the pool. Our pool is a great feature with new multi colour LED lighting, it looks great. Hope you had a great time while in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Address: 191 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.