We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1 bed apartment was great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Inn Cairns

Oasis Inn Cairns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oasis Inn Cairns to your Saves list
Oasis Inn Cairns
276 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Our 1 bed apartment was great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We found the Oasis Inn by accident, having not been able to find a caravan park open in which to park our camper-van. It was 8.45 pm, but the owner was very welcoming. We had our 11 year old daughter with us and the owner apologetically told us that the triple rooms had gone and they only had a one bedroom apartment for $110. The apartment had a reasonable sized triple bedroom, together with a clean and room bathroom, separate WC which was handy for three of us, a galley kitchen together with an enormous living room. It was great to have so much space. We were going to swapping our campervan for 4 week driver campervan the next day and were able to to use the place to unload everything, get sorted and clean our campervan ready for handing back. The place was so good and such good value that we booked to go back for a night after our trip to Cape York. The return trip was equally good and again we were able to use the place to empty out our 4 week drive campervan and get sorted. The hotel was also really well located and although on the main road, we didn't notice any noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alfeld (Leine), Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here two nights in July. I would not stay there another night. Whole interior was old and shabby. Very loud as it is near the main street. Regretted every minute of my stay. If something else is available, go for it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is on a major road and very noisy. Whilst it is only a 5 min walk to the Esplanade it is more like a half hour walk to all the "action" on the Esplanade.

Thankfully the weather wasnt too hot as the noise from the aircon in the main bedroom was loud and we were unable to sleep with it on.

The pool area was great and kept well.

The hotel managers were extremely helpful and made the stay pleasant.

There is nothing fancy about this hotel but it suited our purpose and our budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend the Oasis Inn, as self catering apartments go, it's pretty much spot on. Be prepared to walk 20 minutes to get to the city (a very nice walk down the esplanade I would suggest) (or get the bus!). Dave the owner was superb, booked and willingly offered his opinion on the tours we took. All of which were great. Good value for money and would happily stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Oasis Inn was a great place to stay while I travelled through Australia. Customer Care and service was extremely good from Dave and Kirsty who run this establishment. They were only to happy to give me info on local knowledge(buses into Cairns restaurants etc) or excursions to the rain forest, Great Barrier Reef or any number of trips which they can book for you. The Oasis is made up of apartments around a central pool with tables and chairs and bar-b-que area and this is well kept and cleaned every day. The apartment I had was on the upstairs level and each apartment has a table and chairs on the veranda as well as a well furnished interior. Fully equipped kitchen fridge freezer, oven and microwave. Lounge area with tv and folder including tv guide, local take away's and restaurants was very helpful. The bedroom was comfortable and extremley clean as was the bathroom with fresh towels and complimentry soap's shampoo's etc. During my stay I booked 4 excursions, including 2 rain forest,one Great Barrier Reef and a scenic rail trip. All booked and paid for through the Oasis with pick up's outside the front entrance also an early taxi pick up for the airport when I left. I found this a great place to stay as you can walk into Cairns centre along the beautiful esplanade which only takes about 25mins or get the bus out at the front of Oasis as they have a bus stop just along from the entance and coming back the bus stops directly over the road. Kirsty and the chamber maids clean and change linen and there is also a laundry with machines and drying area. I would recommend a stay here as it was very good value and a well presented establishment. Dave and Kirsty were only to happy to help with any questions I had.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I would not recommend this resort- The pictures are misleading and they are very run down motel rooms
Location is bad, you need to be nearer the main strip. We originally booked here for 4 weeks for when we arrived in cairns- we didnt even stay 1 night!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Oasis inn was well located to cairns city. The rooms clean and comfortable. Management was excellent and was there to help us in anyway possible. They also organise your trips you want to do at no extra charge. By having all these services provided for us made our holiday extremely enjoyable and relaxing..To management and staff thank you very much.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Inn Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Inn Cairns

Address: 276 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Inn Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Inn Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.