We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns City Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns City Motel to your Saves list
Cairns City Motel
169 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Poinsettia Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is excellent budget accommodation. The rooms are very clean, the free wi-fi is excellent and very fast, the bed is very comfortable and for what you pay we could not fault it. The bathrooms are a bit old and tired but are very clean and do the job. Great hot showers and light and airy. The air conditioner, whilst old and a bit noisy, worked well and the rooms also have very quiet ceiling fans. The location is great and the free airport transfer works well.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room - nice table and chairs on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    5
    3
    13
See reviews for
7
6
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The location is perfect, just 5 minutes walk to the Esplanade. They also provide free shuttle from airport to the motel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Yasemin recommended several local tours and helped to book everything prior to our arrival. I think she upgraded our room too - much appreciated. The TV didn't work though but in general it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We found this hotel during the Cyclone Nathan scare. Our dive boat came in a night early and we the boat booked us here based on our price range.

Prices had lowered to $50AUD per night due to low occupancy, which made this hotel an EXCELLENT deal for the place. Rooms were serviceable, but nothing special. Our room had two twin beds stuck together to make a king, and then another twin off to the side. The AC worked and there was a perfect ceiling fan. The bathroom was large and worked well. Room was clean, sheets were clean, just seemed a little dated, which was fine. There were dishes, microwave, fridge, and a tea kettle, making it perfect for our 3-night stay!

Staff was excellent and mentioned that we could use the free washer to wash the salt water out of our clothes.

Again, not the best place ever, but was soooooo perfect for our price range! Just as clean as a hostel, but cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Location is very convenient - close to downtown, the Esplanade and the airport.
Check in was very straight forward.
The room was clean and great for one evening.
The staff assisted me with taxi arrangements for a very early taxi - this was greatly appreciated. The provided tea and coffee in the room was useful.

Room Tip: A modest lodge when other travel agenda items take a priority over the price of the lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Pretty cheap place to stay which is located pretty near the esplanade.
Room was a little shoddy and untidy. The woman on the front desk could have been more friendly. Probably didn't want to be there.
Our bath towels had huge holes in them.. So we didn't use them.
Wifi and air con was good though.
Would stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Cairns city motel is perfectly located. Close to all amenities and the cbd, whilst far enough away to allow for a restful stay. An ideal base and competitively priced and not on a major highway, so many other motels are.Friendly staff, Yasemin is great. I was at the motel for 2 weeks, and it suited me perfectly.I believe the rooms are being upgraded, carpets would benefit from this.Perhaps also if the pool was quieter late at night, perhaps the xmas period was the reason.!.All in all a great stay. Barry V Redmond

Room Tip: i stayed on the top floor furthest away from street , i enjoyed the airy light aspect.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Motel is very basic but with that price i wasn not expecting more. The girl inthe reseption was suberb. Friendly, helpful and always smiling. 10+ for her. New curtains would nice.. huge cap between them

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Motel

Address: 169 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Poinsettia Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Cairns City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.