We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT DO IT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns City Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns City Motel to your Saves list
Cairns City Motel
169 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Poinsettia Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DONT DO IT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

stayed on the 31st and the 1st oct nov 14 ,,,disgusting, hole in wall from a removed bedside light with bare exposed wires covered up by tape,but some how they made it safe by tapeing over the switch,had watch my 2yo granson so he did nt decide to peel it off.tested the smoke alarm didnt work,air con lead stretched into double adaptor with the lead teminals exposed cause it just didnt get there .filthy toilet ,showers ,bed feels like theres bugs crawling on your skin stained smelly sheets,room cleaning is a knock at the door have look then go no cleaning aids at all not even a chux wipe,very smelly room,,,,,oh an didnt get key deposit back

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    0
    2
    13
See reviews for
7
4
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mareeba
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

best suited for escorts an junkies,smells like rotting feet with a hint of mouldy curtins and carpet.if u fall asleep u get that feeling theres bugs an mites cralwing allover u ,, Room cleaning is a knock on the door have a quick look an move on to the next room no cleaning stuff at all pure filth ,make sure u get your hep shots,and dont expect your $20 key deposit back.oh an the SMOKE ALARM DOEST WORK.will report this as this is a very bad saftey fail.if your going to book a room just get a sheet from a vinnis bin and sleep in a public toilet at least the council will clean it every now an then.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Be aware that the check-in office is only open 9am-7pm. I was never informed of this- I arrived at 10pm and couldn't get my room. There was only a phone number taped to the window to call & get your key from the lock box. The hotel needs to understand that many guests are foreigners whose phones don't work in Australia- what are we supposed to do? I wandered around the hotel asking guests for help. Luckily I found a hotel employee who got my room key for me. The next night I met other guests who were helplessly wandering around the hotel because they couldn't call that number. The hotel needs to address this problem and change their check-in system!

The room was very run down, and the air conditioner was as loud as a diesel truck- bring earplugs! The electricity went out in half of my room and didn't work for the rest of my stay. This hotel seems to attract a lot of loud, inconsiderate backpackers. They were yelling and singing at all hours of the night. The hotel doesn't enforce quiet hours. Since the office is closed at night- you're on your own!! It's a cheap place to stay, but good luck.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I stayed there just over a year ago and wouldn't repeat. Booked with Agoda, arrived early from Perthand couldn't get into the room for about three hours. Then they slugged me with a $20 key deposit and I never received the refund.
The room was like something out of the sixties and looked like it hadn't been cleaned since then.It was only cleaned once while I was there and started having to buy my own toilet paper! It was in a good location but that's all it had going for it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Poorly presented room, floor obviously not vacuumed and generally smelt like feet. Sheets old and grey, poorly made beds made a bad impression of hygene. Only one towel provided for a room of four beds. Shower recess was black and mouldy, fridge was stained with rust.

Front counter staff member was pleasant and cheerful. Unfortunately, you only encounter them once or twice in your stay, the main attraction, the room, was an experience I wish to forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The good thing about the motel is that even though we arrived at 9 pm and reception closed at 7 pm the on site manager checked us on. The room is very old, dirty, had bugs. There were shower curtain rings but no shower curtain. The air conditioner made noise but did not cool. The location close to the esplanade was good and there was on street parking close by. The on site parking was full.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good points - the air conditioning is so old and noisy that people turn theirs off after cooling their rooms down so it is possible to get to sleep unaffected by such noise. Only about 50AUD per night. Helpful staff - or were when we were there. Rooms situated back from the road so little traffic noise. Used by people visiting friends and the hospital in the area who say they stay there whenever they are in Cairns.

Less good points - small pool. Needs a good clean and refurbishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Motel

Address: 169 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Poinsettia Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.