We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, awesome patio and outdoor area, a bit far from town, a bit of a hassle with the free shuttles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Beach House

Save Saved
You added Cairns Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairns Beach House
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   239 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Nomads Beach House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Brooklyn, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, awesome patio and outdoor area, a bit far from town, a bit of a hassle with the free shuttles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days, I think it was definitely the best place out of all the hostels I could have chosen. It is a bit far from the center of town and Esplanade - about a 25 minute walk. But it has the best outdoor area with tables, chairs, a pool, ping pong, a bar that opens at 4pm and TV. Everyone was able to watch music videos and the Olympics at any hour! Tons of tropical trees made you feel away. The other hostels I passed closer to town all looked so small and dirty from the outside. Plus, Cairns get busy and loud at night so I was happy to be in a more quiet area. There's bars and hotels all on Sheridan Street so it's easy to find food and drinks.The free Wifi outdoors and in the lobby is great, sometimes it had to be rebooted.

The only negative thing to note is that it was always a hassle with scheduling the free shuttle rides to the marina and airport. I wouldn't have stayed here if it wasn't for that because I scuba dive so there was no way I was walking 25 minutes with gear on my back. They need a better system and should scheduled this into their computers or hang up a schedule of who's getting driven when. The first day, the lady came at the wrong time thinking we missed our dive.
Second time, I asked for a shuttle in 10 minutes, and come out to find out the owner took it to go shopping for 45 minutes. no biggie since it was the owner, but there was no courtesy in knocking on our door telling us it was gonna leave for so long. Third time, getting a ride to the airport at 5am. I always double reminded the female staff about our shuttles everyday. so when I go to double remind her about our ride to the airport the next morning, she really flat out forgot. and i called it, i knew she would forget. then I would have been screwed, thankfully, the two men who work there took care of me, the overnight guy worked and woke up the guy to drive us and he wasn't late. but seriously, how do you forget? you obviously don't write it down and memory does not work if you're at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    8
    18
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
17
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairns
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rooms and services with new air conditioning and entertainment in a outdoor environment with pool and billiards table and table tennis table is great fun. The $4.00 any brand beer is hard to find. The free breakfast is a bonus. The dorms are priced at$16.00 per night and single rooms for couples are$45.00 per night. Great value and atmosphere in Cairns!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in a 20 bed dorm for $14 a night....unless you are desperate to save money, I would not recommend! Very dirty, wifi doesn't work, and not close to anything really, only plus is very cheap meals for dinner.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Forget about the free wifi or the free pool ( you pay bor both)
Free shuttle bus? yes 5 in a day, cross fingers if you have booked any activity and must on time in the City.
Because they are "under new management" they don't even know if you made a booking, how much you paid or if they have available rooms. We had to wait 3 days for a refund because obviously we where overcharged.
Smelly toilets, dirty kitchen, 30 min walk from the center.
Free breakfast? great! filter coffee and 2 toasts, with either strawberry or orange jam...sucks
I think they no longer do any free dinner, and i wouldnt have it anyway.
I got a private room with my girlfriend and despite we have been backpackers for long, didn;t expect that crap. Half painted room with 2 joined beds and a small desk, they gave us dirty sheets that unfortunately had to use in the cold night.
The price is only a few dollars less than other hostels like gilligan's and they are right in the centre of the city so you can save it from the bus for example.

Room Tip: Book the cheapest bed because you will have to share the rest anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Cairns Beach House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us feedback, and are working hard as new management to respond to complaints and improve our facilities.

We do endeavor to offer as many free things for our backpackers as possible, keeping in mind we would like to keep our rates low or those on a budget rather than offering an inclusive price for premium amenities. I think most backpackers would agree that a rate starting at $14 per night, including a basic breakfast, multiple free shuttle buses per day, and daily activities such as free guided rain forest trips and bbqs is a great deal.

Regarding your other issues, we can only apologize for any negative experience you may have had, and assure you that we are all working hard to make our transition from one owner to another as painless as possible. We are already back on track and looking forward to a busy year of budget travelers visiting us here in sunny Far North Queensland, but are very sorry if you did not experience the best we have to offer.

We wish you nothing but the best in all your future travels, and hope that should you ever return to Cairns you give us another chance to impress - we think you will love the improvements we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Cairns and was really disappointed, i understand it really is budget accommodation but the room was like a cell literally a bed with brown stained walls and nothing else, not even a hook for our towels, alot of long term people working here making it hard to meet new people and the kitchen smells like wet dog! pay alittle bit more and stay in the centre!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Cairns Beach House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for you review. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us valuable feedback, and since your stay have made many new changes. Our kitchen has since doubled in size, as we have knocked through the wall and expanded through the room next door. We now offer a whole separate room for food storage, as well as an indoor dining area as a rainy day alternative to our patio seating. We have also expanded our experienced staff roster to include an activities director, who ensures there are daily events and activities (all FREE) to make sure all our backpackers have a chance to meet new people and enjoy some of the fun stuff in Cairns - and what else is backpacking about than that!

We hope that if you ever come back to Cairns, you stay with us again and give us a chance to show you all our exciting changes - we know you'll be impressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our room was basic with no a/c and just a fan in more humid months this might be a struggle but for us was okay.

The kitchen, although equipped, was quite a battle each evening with ample prep space and two, four hob, half decent electric cookers for all the guests. The fridges were packed full and leaked a fair bit of water which was dangerous on the slippy floor but with towels put down you could navigate it okay.

The breakfast, although basic was fine and the whole reception area was nice and open with plenty of places to relax and the booking for many trips and tours makes it easy too. The knowledgeable and attentive staff were great too, especially when our hot water was out, they sorted it straight away.

Although located outside town centre, the free minibus transfer was frequent enough which was good, although if you want to party you'd have to pay for a cab back.

All in all a cheap and ample place to stay - you get what you pay for after all!

A few basics, such as more and looked after fridge space, washing up liquid in the kitchen and towel hooks and a mirror in your room - simple additions but would help improve the overall the experience that bit more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Cairns Beach House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the time you take from your holiday to give us feedback! We are working hard as new management to respond to complaints and improve our facilities. In the last 2 weeks, we have doubled the size of our kitchen, adding a fridge and a separate room for food storage. We have also added an indoor dining room in addition to our patio and bar, so there's a great spot to eat in on rainy days.

We really appreciate your positive feedback about our staff and reception area, and will certainly pass on your compliments to all our hardworking staff!

Best of luck, we hope you enjoy all your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had 3 nights booked in the hostel as part of a package. I've stayed in over 30 hostels all over Australia and this was by far the worst. Location not the best, a good 20 minute walk from where its all going on. We had arrange to be picked up by the free hostel transport and we waited over an hour and had to keep calling.

The staff were unfriendly, rooms are a good size but absolutely stink. We moved rooms straight away as the bathroom as all mouldy and the room just smelt of sweat! Very hot rooms also.

Left after the 1st night and had to argue for the key deposit back, felt quite threatened and the locals who come to drink there at night are rough and intimidating! Cheap at around 15 dollars a night but pay 5 more and stay in koala backpackers or nomads where we moved too!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Cairns Beach House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
hank you for your review. We are excited to let you know that we are now under new management, and hope that your negative experience will not be repeated here!

If you are ever in Cairns again, we invite you to come back and give us another try - we think you will be impressed with the changes we are making!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach House

Address: 239 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Nomads Beach House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cairns Beach House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standards of quality and comfort are now available in our Hostel. We are now cleaner and better but we still have the same concern: offering you a place where you can feel at home, have fun and be safe. We appreciate the importance of clean facilities therefore we'll be cleaning all day long, making sure everything is spotless. Located just 1600 metres from the city centre and Esplanade Lagoon and all major transport. The free hostel shuttle leaves hourly (7 till 7) for a quick ride to town if your feeling lazy. At The Beach house you get a great nights sleep and if you want to party it's a short walk away. Close to the ocean and parks with supermarkets etc close by...Whether you are in Cairns to dive the Reef or visit the Daintree rainforest and then Party then night away in the city clubs and just chill by the pool the next day with a drink, The Cairns Beach House is the perfect base for your holiday. With a variety of accommodation options, from dorms, budget double & twin, to en-suited king and family rooms - from individuals to group bookings there is something to suit all budgets. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere for young travellers, hopefully making you feel at Home. Free WiFi, breakfast and dinner is included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cairns Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.