We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Boat

Golden Boat
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This restaurant is extremely expensive and serves defrosted food.
Paid $22+ for wonton noodle soup which was tasteless and you could easily tell that the noodles and wontons were defrosted and there was half a teaspoon of filling in wontons wraped in huge rice paper sheets. The crispy skin chicken, $28+ was very dry and overcooked and half of it was inedible. We should have known better as there was hardly anyone dining there and the town was overbooked due to the total solar eclipse that morning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    10
    5
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

All of our favourite dishes, pleasant service, well priced. Take a jacket/cardi as the air-con is very efficient!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide aust
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As in past years this is probably the best Chinese food in Cairns, but this year something is changed. On Sunday the yum cha service was rushed;- the waiting staff pushed the dishes at us seemingly with little regard for our wishes. Then the trolley stopped at 1.30pm & waiting staff virtually disappeared. Disappointing, especially for our children.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Has changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We used to eat yum cha here all the time but hadn't been in a while. Gee have the prices gone up. The food is always good but the service was nothing like it used to be. They seemed too busy and didn't have enough people walking around with trolleys of food. We were starving and felt like we were waiting all the time. I guess the price hike is a bit disappointing. If you don't mind waiting and paying a bit higher for yum cha then the food is worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is expensive, but I cannot fault the food or the service, an extensive menu, with amazing food for the whole family

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Boat also viewed

 

Been to Golden Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.