We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional, reliable, enjoyable, lots to see and do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Wings Cairns Tours

Tropic Wings Cairns Tours
Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4041 9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 111 Tours & Activities in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropic Wings offer full day touring programs to Kuranda and Cape Tribulation. Kuranda tours include options of the Kuranda Scenic Railway, Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, Rainforestation Nature Park; Pamagirri Aboriginal Experience, Army Duck, Koala & Wildlife Park, Kuranda Village and Skyrail. Cape Tribulation travels along one of Australia's most scenic drives, north along the Captain Cook Highway. Highlights include the Wildlife Habitat, lunch in Cape Tribulation, Cape Tribulation Beach, Alexandra Lookout and cruising on the Daintree River spotting for wildlife and crocodiles.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Professional, reliable, enjoyable, lots to see and do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I did the Ultimate Kuranda experience including the sky rail, butterfly sanctuary, army duck, wildlife trip, aboriginal experience, lunch and scenic rail journey. We were reliably picked up from Port Doiglas and had a full on day, feeling like VIP all day. An expensive tour upfront, however therefore there was no need to pay entry to anything and we could simply walk in and enjoy ourselves. Busy time table, tight schedule but I love a fulfilled day! Only one down point was we were so busy we had no time to look at Kuranda itself so we missed the markets.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great informative day and Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We experiened the The Wildlife Habitat  Alexandra Lookout  Flora Art Gallery & Ice Cream Factory and Jungle Surfing last week as part of a group. OMG just amazing. Great great day and Scotty the Guide was really informative and great fun. Highly recommend and Thanks for your hospitality

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too Much in a Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We did the Ultimate Kuranda Experience and I got to admit was rather underwelmed the Skyrail trip and the Pamagirri Aborinal Experience were both amazing, but everything else was a bit of a let down for the price. I felt rushed throughout the day and constantly had to watch the clock so as to not miss the next activity.
I felt the I could have had more time in Kuranda itself.
When we arrived at The Railway station at the end of a very tiring day the coach itself was not easily differated from the other coach companies and had to ask a few drivers for clues to which coach to jump on.
I may use the tour company again But not for such a detailed tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaPTA_Group, Owner at Tropic Wings Cairns Tours, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ultimate Kuranda Experience, and we're sorry to hear that you felt there was too much included in the day. This is our premium tour with the most inclusions, and as you can see from previous reviews, other customers have been very satisfied with this tour and have enjoyed the variety of activities included, but of course we understand that expectations can vary from customer to customer. We do have a variety of Kuranda tour options to chose from, which cover a range of budgets and inclusions, so perhaps another tour option with more time in Kuranda Village would have been a more suitable for you. Our reservations team are well-trained to discuss what the customer is looking for over the phone, so if you made your booking through an agent, our sales and marketing team will continue to educate them on helping customers decide the best tour option for them.

- Ben Woodward, Family Owner / Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kuranda Train and Skyrail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We did the train to Kuranda and the sky rail back. That's what I would recommend one needs to do. It was a well organised day's events although there was a bit too much wandering time at Kuranda. The organisation back at the Sky Rail terminal to meet our tour bus was excellent. No worries as there was a guide to get on us the right tour bus for our return trip.
Looking down on the rainforest fom the Skyrail was a highlight. The 2 stops and walks associated were excellent also. Our tour was courtesy of Tropic Wings Tours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend this company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We did the Ultimate Kuranda experience and thought it was a very well organised day's events. The Scenic railway was enchanting. The Butterfly sanctuary was interesting. The Rainforestation was awesome especially when our Army Duck conked out in the creek!! The buffet lunch was plentiful and of good quality. The whole Aboriginal dancing and dreamtime experience was very enjoyable. The final segment being the Skyrail was breath taking and absolutely spectacular. I'm not good with that kind of thing but I relaxed into it and thoroughly enjoyed the ride. Would 100% recommend this tour with Tropic Wings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Wings Cairns Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tropic Wings Cairns Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Wings Cairns Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.