We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundantly yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lillipad

Lillipad
72 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4051 9565
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Cairns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Abundantly yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Laid back atmosphere, seriously good food. Ask for an extra plate and share your meal with a friend, it's huge! Everything fresh and healthy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    60
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A little whacky but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A slightly alternative cafe venue with a hippy vibe, the food is varied and very tasty. I'm not sure whether the chef at the time was american but my meal reminded me of some of the large wholesome diner meals I've had over in the states.

The service and delivery was a little slow (overall we would have been there almost an hour) so don't go if in a hurry or very hungry. If you aren't however in a hurry, the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not as good as I'd hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'd really wanted to like this place based on good reviews and the food I saw coming out of the kitchen when I went. So much of it did look great! Unfortunately, the service was surly/sullen and my omelet was so over-salted it was nearly inedible. I did very much enjoy the latte (well made), but overall, I was disappointed in comparison to my expectations.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The food is so fresh it is almost alive. Great flavours, a bit small in service but well worth the wait. A great bunch of Hippies in the kitchen and everyone is happy to help and serve. very generous serves

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“a good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Its quite a walk from the Esplanade but a short taxi ride does the trick,The food is spectacular and I got to speak to the son of the lady who worked there. All the courses are large I had a vegan salad wow! thats what I call a salad so many places around the world give you a few bits of rockets and call that salad not this place this place they give you something that resembles artwork, all sorts of drinks from fabulous smoothies to juices to coffees to herbals, and once again the people are very friendly. Its run by a Russian guy you can see them working hard in the back''

Excellent food excellent value I loved it there

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lillipad also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Lillipad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lillipad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.