We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centenary Lakes Botanic Gardens

Centenary Lakes Botanic Gardens
132 Woodward Street | Edge Hill, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$29*
and up
Cairns Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #15 of 31 Attractions in Cairns
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“relaxing place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

we always go her on our last day here before we go to airport to catch our flight home as it is nice place to spend the last few hours with a cuppa and scones .. walk around and enjoy all the botanical varieties at one may not see in the surrounding districts especially the orchid dislpys

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leongatha, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spectacular , this is a must if you are visiting the cairns area. Boardwalks though rain forests, winding paths surrounded by gardens, or orchid displays . You will need at least 3hrs to see it.REMEMBER The dreaded midges are there so don't forget the bush mans spray and sun screen. We took the bus from Palm cove easy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Centenary lakes walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We liked the Tank art places next to Botanic gardens, had a quick stroll, were slightly surprised how small they seemed to be. Well signposted everywhere in gardens. Walked across the road and along the boardwalk (good) to centenary lakes, and seemed to suddenly just be in Cairns suburbs (toilet block here was good and had just been cleaned). Neat and tidy lawns. As we'd walked from the centre of Cairns, we found our way back to the esplanade - via Tobruk Pool (which is a great place for swim and coffee).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa, South Austraila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just a short trip from the city about 3 klms. Fantastic walk through the gardens and the park on the other side of the road.
Make sure you take insect repellent and water. Allow a couple of hours it's well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rainforest experience so close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

On the boardwalk areas you can see and experience the rainforest in swamp location without the travel up/down the coast to see almost the same vegetation and rainforest trees, you also see more bird life on the ground level. Its a very relaxing walk so peaceful and so close to the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centenary Lakes Botanic Gardens also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Centenary Lakes Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centenary Lakes Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.