We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Central Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aspect Central Motel to your Saves list
Aspect Central Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   209-211 Sheridan Street | corner Sheriden & Grove, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place and reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I found this to be a very friendly, clean motel. The bus to the station and centre of Cairns which is not far at all, is just across the road . I stayed in a premier room which was comfortable and roomy and still reasonably priced. The cheaper rooms are a little small. I did notice on wotif that the standard normal rate advertised could not be anywhere near that price so I felt that was very misleading. eg room normally $260 per night , on sale for $79. This is a motel and double rooms I think could be anywhere between $80 to $130 in busy season so not quite up front I feel. There is a restuarant attached to the motel which has lovely food but I would like to see more reasonably priced items on the menu. Motel staff were fantastic but the only down side was the manager who was really not suited for customer service. A rather grumpy woman. Apart from that I completely recommend this motel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    38
    20
    16
See reviews for
26
47
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Motel is not bad at all, rooms pretty basic but have everything you need. There are ones with kitchens etc which looked much better. We only paid £40 a night for 3 of us so worked out at less than £15 each. Motel is about 15 min walk to the centre. Rooms were cleaned daily and had TV, fridge, iron and free safe (AS$ 20 refundable deposit)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

If you need the promised Wi-Fi Internet access 24/7, look elsewhere.

I was in Sydney for a conference, so stopped off in Cairns for seven dives off a live-aboard vessel. It was supposed to be a holiday, but I still needed Internet access to upload photos from the conference, keep in touch with the home office (Tokyo), and call (Skype) my family in Canada.

All my $20 voucher (for 24 hours of access) got me was two hours of frustation. I wound up walking down the street to an Internet cafe. Later, after I'd set up the website for conference photos and answered a few business e-mails, I was able to phone Victoria (two states away, not toll-free) and have the technician grant me access. Three days later, I got "Rose," who talked very soothingly, but couldn't fix the problem.

I was not surprised to see other properties advertising FREE INTERNET because setting up a couple of Wi-Fi routers is no big deal. Even enabling WEP/WPA is not that hard. It's signing an access control contract with an outfit one time zone away that leads to this sort of trouble.

If you don't need Internet (beyond checking mail at an Internet cafe), I would recommend this motel highly.
* Great value for money
* Minutes from IGA supermarket with a fridge to hold your purchases. No microwave, however.
* Clean rooms
* Friendly staff. Totally ignorant of Internet matters, alas.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

What kind of Motel allows itself to run out of gas....so there's no hot water in the entire place? That's what was the case from when we checked in to when we left....thank God it was not more than a day that we spent in Cairns! When we left...there was still no hot water.............!

We had booked a spa room (thought we'd give ourselves a treat!) and paid extra. When we got there, found that staff had overbooked the room! Fortunately as we arrived first, we got the room.......thought we were lucky! Then .....no hot water......Cairns in mid-winter does get cold....down to 14 degrees C at night! Couldn't use the spa, couldnt even have a shower as the water was very cold! The staff apologised but wouldn't take anything off the price ...despite the fact that we paid extra for the spa but couldnt use it!

No wardrobe in the room....couldnt hang up clothes! No space for much else as the spa took up a lot of room!

Will never stay here again!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Pathetic management; no wardrobe in room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

This seems like a regular motel but is definitely nicer than the other ones that we saw in the Cairns vicinity. It's about 10 minutes walk to the main city/promenade area. The rooms are quite nice and there are decent amenities (including microwave, fridge, and kettle in the rooms). The price is about the same as the surrounding area but, as this facility is new, the rooms are quite nice. Would recommend for people with just a short stay in Cairns, especially those who don't need to necessarily lounge around a hotel all day and are only using Cairns as a stepping stone. There is a pool here, as well, but we didn't use it.

  • Liked — Convenience and amenities
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Pleasant enough motel. The courtyard area you first enter is very nice; reception staff are very helpful and have a wealth of information on the local attractions; and there's a nice, but small, pool.

Location isn't brilliant if you don't have a car - it's a good 20 minute walk into the centre of Cairns, as the motel is situation north of the town on the Captain Cook Highway.

Room was OK with air conditioning (very necessary in Cairns), TV, and excellent shower. However, hard tiled floors coupled with casters on the beds means that if you roll over too heavily in the night, your bed goes rolling across the room...

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location - too far out of town
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspect Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Central Motel

Address: 209-211 Sheridan Street | corner Sheriden & Grove, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aspect Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Central Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Central Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.