We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Regis City Quays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Regis City Quays to your Saves list
Park Regis City Quays
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spacious apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our stay at The Park Regis was great, although we did not have a view which was a bit disappointing. We stayed here a week and our apartment was quiet and private. The convenient location was a short walk to the waterfront restaurant area and same distance into the main shopping area. The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment/room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
Dear Lynne L

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good, Also found our staff were very helpful and knowledgeable with helping you with tours and local points of interest.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.
Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    91
    34
    18
    16
See reviews for
35
68
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Reasonably priced accommodation very close to all the action. The room was light and airy, modern with a small but useful balcony, with two chairs and table. Parking is available in the basement for a small charge, very convenient as if you are staying a few days you probably won't need the car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear ID Millar
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, found our facilities good and the staff was helpful throughout your stay.
I will share this positive feedback with the staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you arrive in the rain at night, as I did, the hotel doesn't look very appealing, with the entry underscored by a very large ramp, only some of which is under cover. However, with a dodgy neck and a heavy bag I was grateful for it - only to find it near impossible to negotiate the heavy entry door, which isn't automatic. The sole person on the desk was busy with several guests, otherwise perhaps there would have been some assistance. So check in was slowish, and included a few waivers to sign, including an agreement that guests would wash up their own teacups etc.

Once in my room though, my first impressions picked up. It was nicely fitted out and seemed fairly new, with a big tv, kitchenette, air con as well as overhead fan, good shower, curtains, bed & pillows and (business traveller joy) TWO decent desks. You will pay for wifi. The big bonuses were a nice balcony (even though the view from here is entirely ordinary), and effective soundproofing. My room and the one next door had an anteroom to mask corridor noise. How sensible. It really makes a difference to sleep quality.

I stayed two nights and there was evidence of housekeeping - the bed was made but the tiny sachets of milk in the fridge weren't replaced. Hmmm. There's a small pool and carpark if that's of interest to you. Plus a lobby vending machine - I didn't see a shop nearby.

The hotel is located in the corporate end of town so it's quiet on the street and there are only a few restaurants within the same block - Chinese, French, Korean. Perhaps there are others but most places were closed on the nights I stayed.There are a lot more options and more action if you walk towards the esplanade for a few more blocks. Not far. Skip the run down looking food court up the (not working) escalator on the next block in Lake St. I went twice but was disappointed both times - there are more than two stalls though, so maybe one or two are better.

I got a very good deal, by Cairns standards, to stay here, and would certainly stay again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid East facing rooms - mine facing South didn't glow from the sun rising. I doubt that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Zappagirl
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found that we were a good property to stay with, for business travel as well as holiday, you also found that our facilities were good and that the staff were helpful throughout your stay.
I will share this positive feedback with our staff and thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to visit Cairns.

Kind Regards
Wayne Booth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here as a family over the weekend of the Cairns Ironman. It is a very central location, which is its main advantage. Each apartment is fully equipped for complete self catering, but there are plenty of eateries within a few minutes walk. Supermarkets within a five minute walk, also. We wanted a two bed apartment for parents and small children, and this was not convenient because of the layout of the apartments. What we got was two one bedroom apartments with a common door from the corridor. Would we stay there again? Yes, because it is so central. Parking not over-supplied, either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for your comments on trip advisor after your recent stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and addressed with the relevant departments and staff. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. And with layout of the 2 bedroom Unit this is very common style in Cairns and is what you call a dual keyed apartment

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Next time you visit Cairns please try our Piermonde Apartments these units are better suited for families with Children.

Yours sincerely


Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the hotel is in a good location and the price is ok but really - a charge for the room to be serviced daily, charge if you use the "complimentary tea & coffee" an attempt to charge for luggage storage for a few hours - none disclosed at time of booking. we stayed for 3 days and the room smelled of smoke the whole time. bad experience wouldn't go stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Park Regis City Quays, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
Dear pfuzzy

Thank you for taking the time for your comments after your stay with us at the Park Regis Cairns. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been received and addressed with the relevant departments and staff. I thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Park Regis Hotel Cairns is committed to providing a high standard of facilities and customer service and we very much value your comments and views in this instance.

Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Park Regis Hotel Cairns in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Wayne Booth
General Manager
Park Regis Hotel Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikiki
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I communicated with the Park Regis prior to my stay as they don't have a 24hour reception. They responded with a code for the safe to collect our keys as we were arriving early hours of the morning. We found the safe and entered the code and nothing! We tried again. We ended up having to ring the after hours number. They gave us the correct pin number. We then retrieved our keys. No garage tag. So had to park out in the street. On checking in in the morning we were told limited parking but they now had a space for us. We were located at the very back of the hotel and it was very dark and had to have the lights on. It was very clean when we arrived. For self contained facilities there was only on larger saucepan and a small saucepan and one small frypan. Not really great facilities there for cooking. There was a washer and dryer, but no clothes horse for clothes not able to be tumble dried!
The towels were replaced daily and beds made but sometimes not til three in the afternoon. I don't think the sheets got changed in the six days we were there or the floors vacuumed.
It is classed four star and all things being equal it wasn't too bad but I have stayed in better four star self contained places with equipped cooking facilities . Location was pretty good. It was comfortable but if you don't get one of the front balcony apartments it is disappointing.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a balcony apartment at the front of the hotel overlooking the road. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is in fact a supplier of high quality serviced apartments so for your money you get a comfortable living/dining area with balcony and well equipped kitchen and separate bedroom and bathroom. So you can self cater, entertain or just relax. Well located close to the waterfront and shops with great eating places close by if you want to go out. Front desk staff were outstanding and could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Regis City Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis City Quays

Address: 6 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis City Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Regis City Quays invites you to discover Cairns and surrounds by providing the ultimate base during your next visit.With the Esplanade, harbour foreshore, restaurants, shops, Night Markets, Reef Casino and Marlin Marina merely a short stroll away; you are close to everything that makes Cairns a great destination. For guests attending tradeshows, conferences and other events, Cairns Convention Centre is conveniently located directly across the street from the hotel.Spectacular sights and experiences await you in Cairns. Take advantage of Park Regis City Quays’ tour booking service and find yourself snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, sailing the crystal blue water on a catamaran or white water rafting on the Tully and Barron Rivers…the options are endless.Whether your stay is for business or pleasure (or a bit of both) – Park Regis City Quays is your ideal ‘home away from home’ whilst in Cairns. Extended and long stay guests are welcome at Park Regis City Quays - click here for more information.Relax and unwind in your modern hotel room or one/two bedroom self-contained apartment – all with individually controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, internet access, cable TV and most with large balconies. To enhance our guests’ experience, our superior rooms have recently been given a fresh new look including new pillow top beds and bedding, modern desks/work areas and new technologies such as iPod docking stations and high definition LCD TVs.Make the most of Cairns’ fantastic weather and cook up a classic Aussie meal at our rooftop sundeck and BBQ area. Afterwards, take a relaxing and refreshing dip in our outdoor swimming pool – perfection!Park Regis City Quays ensures a truly peaceful and relaxing retreat during your next visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Regis City Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis City Quays Hotel Cairns
Park Regis City Quays Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Regis City Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.