We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fishy tale!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Watt Restaurant + Bar

Watt Restaurant + Bar
119 Lamington St, New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
+61 7 3358 5464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,901 of 3,119 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fishy tale!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My friend and I decided to have lunch at the Park Lounge Cafe - a nice place by the river.
I ordered chicken wrap, bacon, parmesan cheese, cos lettuce, Caesar dressing, chips.
I am not a seafood lover so I was quite surprised to find that my "chicken" wrap tasted "fishy". Needless to say I was unable to eat it.

When the waiter came to take our plates away he asked if anything was wrong. I told him about the fishy taste. He went away and then came back to say that the base of the dressing was made using "anchovies". I said that should have been mentioned on the menu. What if someone had a seafood allergy? I was not offered anything in the way of compensation for not being able to eat my meal. A free coffee would have been nice - something!!

My friend ordered King prawns with mango and papaya relish.When the meal arrived, we were most surprised that all that was on her plate were 3 king prawns with a little bit of relish on the side - no salad or garnish.

Overall it was a very disappointing experience and we will not be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    30
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

It was a hot and humid evening and we were given a warm welcome by a lovely Indian waiter with the biggest smile possible. we were given excellent service by him ( I don't remember his name). But he provided a wonderful service and the food was lovely.
we found the portions to be a tad bit tiny and the prices a little steep. But would recommend the place to anyone visiting the power house.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

On a warm and steamy evening we were happy to be shown to a table in an air conditioned area inside the restaurant (there are nice river views from outside tables but air con was more important). We were a group of 10 and we had a fabulous night due to the wonderful service and fantastic food.

Groups over 8 people are given a "set menu" option whereby you can choose between bread, dips and olives and a main or entree and main or entree, main and desert. We opted for the bread, dips and olives and a main because we thought it was great value for $40 and no one was disappointed.

Four platters with impressive towers of warm, fresh Turkish bread was accompanied by 3 very tasty dips (on each platter) and 4 generous bowls of warm olives were enjoyed by everyone. Our main meals were served promptly and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. I had the baked mushroom & spinach lasagne rolls with roasted red pepper sauce and it was incredible! Others enjoyed the duck breast and the eye fillet and no one had a complaint about their meal - they were all excellent by way of presentation and flavour.

Our great waiter (Rob) had recommeded a nice white wine and we enjoyed a few bottles as it was perfectly chilled and well priced. We dined on the night of "earth hour" and Watt participants in this endeavour so the restaurant was filled with candle light from 8.30 which provided a perfect ambiance to a perfect night out.

Thanks to everyone at Watt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We wondered if it was just us....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived for the comedy festival, but were a couple of hours in advance, so planning to eat. After looking at the menus outside we went in and tried to be seated. Cue much umming and ahhing, we were asked when our show was and reluctantly taken to a seat! We were then brought a menu which was different from the ones outside and told it was the pre-show dinner menu and this would guarantee we would be served on time. We found it a little surprising that in a half full restaurant 2 hours couldn't guarantee any meal on the menu, so asked for the menu we'd seen outside.

The food arrived very quickly, was hot, fresh, tasty and plentiful. A little pricey for what it was, but you have to take into account the captive market at the location.

All in all it was fine. But when we go out to eat, we prefer to feel like the restaurant is happy and eager to have us there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Would try others before coming back..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Being right on the river and part of the Powerhouse complex this seemed the ideal place for a bite after an early show during the Comedy Festival. Though it was only half 8 the menu had switched to the Bar Menu or maybe that had to do with where we were seated? There seemed to be plenty of selection however with 5 of us choosing food, there was not a clear winner with any of the options.
Our thoughts on choosing the following: trio of dips, toasted Turkish bread-plenty of bread, not enough dip to cover it all and two of the dips tasted as though they had a good bit of 'earthiness' chucked in them: two dishes of salt and pepper squid- gluggy not a very appetising coating: popcorn chicken with peanut sauce- just tasted liked fried and dried something with not enough sauce to cover quantity served: wagyu beef sliders- possibly the best option though at $16 overpriced and not that tasty?
Would not be in a hurry to try it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watt Restaurant + Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Watt Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watt Restaurant + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.