We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish "treats"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant

Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant
164 Grey St, South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
07 3846 6699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #465 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Turkish "treats"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter and I sort of 'stumbled' on this restaurant on a very wet /stormy night in Soutbank, Brisbane recently. Not much else open on this Sunday evening so in we went! Wow- busy but staff quickly found a table for the two of us. Absolutely packed with diners! Large Turkish restaurant, very colourful with everything Turkish displayed. We weren't very familiar with Turkish cuisine but were pleasantly surprised. Fast service with water/ drinks , bread and dips.My daughter for main had a chicken dish with rice and salad whilst I had the lamb kebabs. I thought my dish was quite tasty , but my daughter said hers was rather bland. We shared a Turkish sweet platter but thought it was too sweet for our palates. Strong Turkish coffee! Ahmet's Restaurant also does Istanbul nights I read - would be interesting to experience I think. Prices a bit exhorbitant i felt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    171
    76
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always fantastic -never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been coming to Ahmets for many years now, every time we come up to Brisbane. We always really enjoy the food, no matter what we order. The food is delicious, well presented and the staff are friendly and helpful. Can't wait for our next visit north to go here again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently visited this Southbank restaurant on a busy Saturday night with another couple. While the restaurant was very busy, the service was excellent with menus and drink orders organised straight away. It was fun, working our way through the varied menu and ordering entrees and main dishes to share. The food arrived promptly and each dish was delicious. I highly recommend the carrot dip. Sounds a bit odd, but it was awesome! The atmosphere was great and the belly dancer after dinner was a lot of fun. Prices were very reasonable. Can't wait to eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good hearty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here with family during the Christmas break and found the place absolutely packed. Service was good and friendly despite one of the waiters forgetting to give us our card and receipt back. He had it in his pocket for over 15 minutes! We could've been there forever if we had not chased after it.
The food itself was tasty with a mixture of very large servings of the meat dishes and very, very small pide. We had good time and thought Ahmet's was a great Southbank option when you're after bigger meals with more exotic flavours than your typical pub food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you like homestyle Turkish cooking...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

...you'll get a good feed here. It's standard fare, but done well and in a fun setting that kind of takes you to the type of little place you migth find in Istanbul.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.