We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good casual option in Southbank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant

Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant
164 Grey St, South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
07 3846 6699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Qld
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good casual option in Southbank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We dined here on the night of Riverfire and was impressed at how well they handled the crowds with a huge wait-staff and food was served hot, fresh and promptly. The meals were tasty but having since dined at another popular Turkish restaurant in Ann St, have to say their food well surpassed Ahmets. Prices are very reasonable. Disappointed in summer they don't serve their Turkish teas as an iced option. Given the food was good, the prices great, and the decor fun would happily return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    149
    61
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Food is bland, service is average. I've been to this restaurant a few times and it has very good ambience and atmosphere but the food has always been really average. Meat was chewy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go on the Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I joined some colleagues for a delightful and entertaining meal. We chose one of the family style feasts, and while it was a tad pricey, it was absolutely delicious! It's a great dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Too much meat, not enough service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went there because of the reviews and because it was packed. Service was inattentive and sporadic. We never worked out who was supposed to be serving our table, and must have dealt with at least five different staff.

Dips and bread were fine, but the main courses were huge, with far too much meat (an Australian issue in our experience). A moussaka was tasty enough, but was basically a big pile of mince with a bit of aubergine in it. On the plus side it came with a large salad. A lamb casserole was bland, with too much meat, not enough veg or flavour. Neither of us finished, and when we told our waitress there was too much food, she said that this was a common comment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best dining experience in Brisbane yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a nice early dinner at Ahmet's this evening, which I have to say was the best all-time dining experience ever in Brisbane.

We ordered one of the Feasts for four people (even though we were five), which at $46 pp was excellent value for money in that there was more than enough to go around. The service was extremely attentive, polite and friendly.

I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for good al fresco dining where you are able to have a conversation without having to be mindful of hushed tones.

Thank you Ahmets!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahmet's Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.