We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Charlotte Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Charlotte Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Charlotte Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Charlotte StreetOaks Charlotte Towers, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Zürich
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We liked the following:
- nice rooms, very spacious
- well equipped kitchen, large fridge
- comfortable beds (the best we experienced on our entire trip)
- fantastic view from the balcony

We were not especially fond of the following:
- expensive parking (AUD25/night)
- very bland and unpleasant outside of the rooms. A picture or a painting would be nice.
- professional but a bit unfriendly personnel at the reception
- expensive WIFI in the room
- the swimming pool on the 5th floor was dirty and uncared for (the lap pool on floor 2 was fine)

We'll be back. But: Dear managers, spice up the hallways, they're depressive. And install fre WIFI.

Room Tip: Our floor was great: 42.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the convenience of a spacious well equipped apartment as well as the great views.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our internet offerings and your comments will certainly be considered..

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Charlotte Towers soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    150
    74
    32
    25
See reviews for
58
62
29
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Secure, clean and very well located. Easy walk to the CBD shops and even to Southbank over the bridge. I got a discounted price which was good but I wasn't too happy with the fact that THEY TAKE A SECURITY DEPOSIT, repayable if everything is left ok. I am a middle aged retired lady and hardly look like a rager, but there 's obviously no room for discretion in this regard. That reminds me - I must check that the deposit has been credited back to my credit card. So annoying and there's room for (convenient) oversight there. At least the Oaks have self contained apartments rather than just hotel rooms with mini bars. But why are so many accommodation places of this type so bland in their colouring? It's a tropical city after all. How about some bright decor or artwork, at least in the foyer and halls? More welcoming for both visitors and staff. Also, the pool,though very clean and a reasonable size, wasn't warm enough on the late afternoon that I swam - a fact remarked upon by one of the permanent residents.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was great to hear that you enjoyed our apartments and location.

Your comments regarding the pool have been passed onto our maintenance team to ensure that it is running at the correct temperature.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Brisbane stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The 1-bedroom apartment on the 39th floor was great with fab views over the CDB. I stayed for 7 nights on a business trip and the rooms were spotless and nicely decorated. Everything you need for self-catering is provided if you want to keep eating costs down. The only negative is that for the cost of these rooms it would be nice if free wifi/Internet could be provided!! If you do not want to pay the inflated Internet charges then I can recommend the 10 minute walk to the local library where free wifi is provided.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for writing your reveiw on the Oaks Charlotte Towers. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we are a great option for extended stays.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the internet service provided, we will take your comments on board as we are currently reviewing our internet options for the future.

Should you return to Brisbane we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in two bedroom apartment with good view. Discovered many faults as weekend progressed. 2 broken dining chairs, broken shower head in ensuite, lounge furnishings very threadbare and worn. Grossly under equipt kitchen meant using dishwasher after every meal. Also found it unusual that bottom sheet on bed did not extend the entire length of the bed. Usual handbook found in other simple type accommodation was not available. Did also notice no evacuation plan displayed in the unit at all. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Did book this venue using a discount holiday voucher, so does that mean second standard rooms apply???

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding Oaks Charlotte Towers.

Regardless of how you made your reservation you should always be able to expect a high quality of room when you stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers and we do not intentionally allocate discount reservations to specific apartments.

We would like the opportunity to speak to you so that we can further investigate your comments. You can email us at customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Boy oh boy, do I miss staying at the Oaks Charlotte! I've stayed here four times upon visiting Brisbane and have never been disappointed. Before I write my review, I think it is very important for all potential guests to know that like most hotels, you are required to pay a deposit which is $100 AUD. On many occasions my deposit has not been returned to my bank account until I have phoned the Oaks and reminded them to put it back. I've always been told that a receptionist "must have forgot". It's as if they would hope that you didn't notice. Don't forget your deposit. Check your bank account, make sure they haven't forgotten to re-fund the amount if you are not entitled to pay it. What a shame that guests have to worry about this.

I have stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment with a friend on four occasions. Fantastic views, modern, clean and spacious. The apartments are equipped with a full kitchen containing all utensils. The bathroom is features a nice big mirror and lovely shower. Great laundry facilities with a washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and ironing board all tucked away nicely. On all occasions I have had a big balcony with table and chairs and a great view. Location is excellent. Charlotte St is a quiet little street just a stones throw from many of Brisbane's hot spots including a 10 min walk from Eagle St Pier and Southbank, and a 3 minute walk from Queen Street Mall. Good service. I'll definitely be back when I return to Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for writing your review, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed a number of stays with us. As stated in your review our excellent location and well appointed apartments are key to making us a great choice when you are staying in Brisbane.

The deposit amount is automatically released by your bank, generally this takes 5-7 business days. Our staff are always happy to follow up if there are concerns regarding this.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had everything we needed. It was comfortable and clean. Staff on reception were nice. It is close to everything and walking distance to the casino and the mall. It is self contained but with restaurants all around there is really no need to cook for yourself. Great to have a laundry as we are always travelling for work, so need to keep our clothes clean. No problems at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers.

Thank you for highlighting our excellent location and I am glad to hear that like many other travellers you enjoyed the additional convenience of having an apartment.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms with a great view if you're lucky enough to get a room on the top floors. Friendly staff and certainly a place ill come back to.

Close to my favourite restaurant in Brizzy too. Try Sake for dinner. Amazing!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Charlotte Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Charlotte Towers

Address: 128 Charlotte StreetOaks Charlotte Towers, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Charlotte Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Charlotte Towers is the prime Brisbane accommodation, located within the city’s business and financial district within walking distance to the shopping heart of Queen Street Mall and the gentler pace of the City Botanic Gardens. Stylishly incorporating creature comforts and modern technology, Oaks Charlotte Towers still displays the ornate facade of the original 19th century architecture. The hotel is popular with both leisure and corporate travellers, offering one and two bedroom apartments all boasting well appointed kitchens and full-width windows with spectacular river and city aspects. Some rooms have alfresco balconies which provide an extra dimension to panoramic views of the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Charlotte Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Charlotte Towers Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Charlotte Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.