We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...but equipment could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Charlotte Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Charlotte Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Charlotte Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Charlotte StreetOaks Charlotte Towers, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good location...but equipment could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location is fantastic right in the middle of Brisbane just a short walk from Central station and as a result just half an hour from the airport.

The rooms were clean and well furnished and the balcony / living area was useful.

The only issue I had was that the equipment for self catering was poor. There were fewer plates, bowls, and less cutlery than was needed for 4......let alone the 5 we had.

Internet at 12.50 for 2 hours is extortionate......and to add insult to injury it was perhaps the slowest I ve experienced anywhere in Australia. Even McDonald's wifi and Queensland trains free wifi were quicker !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank your for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and apartment furnishings and cleanliness. We sincerely apologise that some of the kitchen inventory was not at the correct par level and we have now followed with our Housekeeping Department. We are also exploring alternative options with our internet provider. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    149
    74
    32
    25
See reviews for
58
62
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is my first stay at a Oaks branded hotel and will never be going back. There is a unbearable stench of sewer/garbage/ghetto street smell to the lobby. The attempt to mask the smell by using automated air freshener dispensers throughout the lobby didn't help. The smell is terrible and subsides slightly after you walk inside the elevator. Our room was also near a garbage chute which also added to the discomfort when walking to our rooms. However the interior of the rooms were well furnished, and clean(no smell). Plus the location of the hotel is very entral and convenient.If it wasn't the smell I would've rated Oaks on Charlotte's higher.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to forward your concerns and feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks Charlotte Towers. We offer our sincerest apologies reagrding the odour in our lobby which was due to a plumbing issue with another independant business to us. The issue was rectified in the quickest timeframe they could. We look forward to welcoming you back on more pleasant circumstance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent a couple of weeks at the Oak Charlotte towers while on a business trip. The best part of this apartment style hotel is the location as it's bang in the middle of the Brisbane CBD and provides easy access to pretty much everything. I got the apartment on 31st floor and the view was quite nice.

The reception service however i say wasn't up to the mark. First of all they are not very friendly and seem not to enjoy their work. I complained about the bed being too soft for my back but nothing was done after being promised that they will get back to me. The dish washer was not working in my apartment and in spite of multiple complaints it wasn't fixed and i gave up complaining. Next time i travel to Brisbane i won't be staying at Oak Charlotte Towers and would rather try something else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to forward your concerns and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We offer our sincerest apologies that you felt our reception staff were not responsive to your requests. We have followed up the issue regarding the dishwasher with our maintenance technician and have been advised that due to the public holidays there have been delays in getting the required parts. We wish to welcome you back to Oaks Charlotte Towers and make your future stay pleasant and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It's not often you find an apartment with a balcony and opening windows that also has great air con, this was one of them which worked well with the table and chairs on the balcony, you could enjoy it air conditioned or with fresh open air. This was such a lovely place to stay clean modern fit out and fantastically comfortable (firm) bed. Too many king beds are two beds stuck together this had a continuous top matrices and no dip in the middle. Finally a hotel/apartment that can do it right. Air con was great which you really need in Brisbane. There is a pool and fitness center but didn't get to use them.

The hotel is located centrally, 5min walk to Queen St Mall. There are ample cafe,s bars and restaurants within a 1-2min walk.

Only criticism was that only 1 lift was working. I'd give this place 4.5 stars for that because it was really annoying, and clearly they need to sort out their maintenance contracts to get a faster response.

Room Tip: High rise section has more lifts servicing the floors. You will also get a better view of the city t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of our apartments and our close proximity to the city centre. We do apologise for the delay you experienced with our lifts as we were waiting for a part which took a few days to be delivered. We hope you chose to stay with us again when you are next visiting Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Not what we had expected. I've stayed in plenty of 3star hotels & apartments and they were much nicer than this. Bins don't work, dishwasher doesn't work, glasses cracked, asked for a room to sleep 3 got 1 double bed, their mistake and wouldn't allow another bed without paying. Still only was given 2 towels & didn't replace the glasses. 1 elevator was broken so had to wait for 10-20 mins to go up or down. Bed was comfy and water tasted nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of your recent experience at Oaks Charlotte Towers. We have completed a full follow up with our Housekeeping Department regarding the issues you have presented regarding the room. We apologise if you experienced delays due one of our elevators being repaired. We regret any inconvenience caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Worked booked me in here and it was Great !!. Stayed on 29th floor from memory and the view was great. We were out a fair bit and back in rooms late at night and the staff were accommodating at all times. My 2 bedroom apartment was clean although may need some work done soon on furnishings. No real complaints at all. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a great view of Brisbane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Charlotte Towers for your business trip. We look forward to you returning in the future for business or otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Sitting in 10th floor 2 bedroom apartment with no control over the temperature of the room and a fridge with a motor that drowns out the tv. V few stations available on foxtel - most arent picked up on this floor. I dont know how many times you would have to stay in an oaks 2 be welcomed in a way that recognises loyalty, but all i received after being a regular customer 4 years was an aggressive smile; with no service attached. My request for an upper floor was not acknowledged at all. In addition; the temperature guage on the air conditioner is a faxade, because it refuses to go below 24 degrees. The room was too hot to get a comfortable noghts sleep. My advice is, go somewhere else where the hosts at least show a service level above contempt

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCharlotte, Manager at Oaks Charlotte Towers, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay. I do beleive I have spoken to you personally since and as discussed a full follow up on the issues you have highlighted will be conducted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Charlotte Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Charlotte Towers

Address: 128 Charlotte StreetOaks Charlotte Towers, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Charlotte Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Charlotte Towers is the prime Brisbane accommodation, located within the city’s business and financial district within walking distance to the shopping heart of Queen Street Mall and the gentler pace of the City Botanic Gardens. Stylishly incorporating creature comforts and modern technology, Oaks Charlotte Towers still displays the ornate facade of the original 19th century architecture. The hotel is popular with both leisure and corporate travellers, offering one and two bedroom apartments all boasting well appointed kitchens and full-width windows with spectacular river and city aspects. Some rooms have alfresco balconies which provide an extra dimension to panoramic views of the skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Charlotte Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Charlotte Towers Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Charlotte Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.