We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E'cco Bistro

E'cco Bistro
100 Boundary St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
07 3831 8344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $0 - $131
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Mixed feelings after dining in this well known Brisbane restaurant. We travelled far to taste the experience we have heard so much about and maybe had too higher of an expectation?
Firstly I could not fault the amazing food, it was absolutely fantastic and I think all who ate at our table had food envy at some stage. The ambiance was spot on and the view of the Story Bridge gave it a classy touch.
I am some times a bit dubiace about an open kitchen and sometimes it pays not to look too closely, that's all I will say on that point.
The staff in the kitchen were flat out as the venue was full to capacity, even with people eating up at the bar.
Although a venue such as his is flat out I believe the staff should not show their stress in what they do. We had one waiter who was like a bull in a glass cage, who was in a rush to get us seated, fed and have us on our way. I looked about at the other staff and they seemed to be in total control, chatting with customers and going with flow.

So other than being rushed I totally rate this great establishment and recommend you take the time to dine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    59
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best restaurant in Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having visited many of Brisbane's upper crust, this remain my favourite food in town. For many years, Ecco was recognised as the leading force in Brisbane restaurants but has been challenged recently by newer arrivals like Aria. The food at Ecco is exceptional on every occasion, across the board and across the seasons. I have never had a disappointing meal. A shade ahead of Aria for a shade less dough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

E'cco Bistro doesn't declare itself to be a fine dining establishment, and after a visit there in September, I agree. It lacks the finesse required. I don't remember the last time a waiter in a restaurant waited for a customer to remove his/her (untouched) napkin from the table so that the waiter can place food in front of this customer.. isn't that service 101?

This is not a restaurant to choose for a special occasion. The lighting/interior is harsh, the view is of the street and so not ideal for a romantic night out.

The food however, is pretty good. It's a shame that the service and ambience let it all down. And when you're paying close to $100 per person for food only (3 courses), it's not good enough. Brisbane is now home to an excellent array of true fine dining restaurants with similar pricing (and views to match) so I don't think we'll be rushing back to E'cco.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, moderate atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have dined here a few times some years back so I made it a must to eat here on a visit to Brisbane. The food was brilliant, smoked swordfish carpaccio and vegetarian ravioli with fried sage leaves and pecan nuts stand out in my memory. The chocolate dessert with salted caramel also lingers in my mind! Food wise it was marvellous, I don't agree with the comments about portion sizes, for our table we definitely needed to add sides of broccolini and real potato chips (these were gorgeous, such a simple thing but so delicious).

We ate here on a Saturday night with a group of 7 (booked 5 weeks in advance), so it was a reasonably busy evening. The dining setting is very noisy so it is not possible to talk to anyone more than one seat away at a table larger than 4 settings.

Those in our party who did not order entree waited for well over an hour for any food after ordering. By this time we were pretty tiddly and rather hungry! I understand that it is hard to produce 7 mains at once on a busy night, however with that much booking notice surely this could have been anticipated? At least some more bread could have been provided since our table was right next to the kitchen and it was pretty obvious how long we had been waiting. (The sourdough bread was really excellent also I recall).

However, I MUST add that the staff were working like mad in the kitchen and the corkage was generously waived from our bill, so I felt that the restaurant really did try their level best to compensate us. I think this was a one off problem and in future we will avoid booking on any busy evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Decided to give this one a try after hearing some good feedback from friends and we weren't disappointed with the food or wine, service was also very good however I won't be back in a hurry as we found the seating extremely close together and the room to be very crowded and noisy. Lastly I early fell over when I got the bill, pretty good all round but not for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E'cco Bistro also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to E'cco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E'cco Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.