We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are very nice, but the hostel it self needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cloud 9 Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cloud 9 Backpackers to your Saves list
Cloud 9 Backpackers
350 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staff are very nice, but the hostel it self needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The kitchen is the smallest kitchen ever, and its so hot in there! If you pay extra for an air conditioned room, beware that the air conditioning hardly works. The neighbouring hostels are much much nicer, but Cloud 9 is by far the cheapest. Besides these things the hostel is at least kept fairly tidy and it is in a good location. One thing I really loved is that every night they have a different event going on in the hostel, so it is a great way to meet people. Example: Free Goon and cheese on Mondays. Quite nice of them!

Room Tip: Check that the air con works before you pay extra for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Horrible hostel. We paid to a girl in the reception and asked for a receipt but she told me that I had to wait, got it 20 minutes later. After 2 hours in the room a rude guy knocks on our door and asks us if we're drinking. We say no and let's him smell my drink. After this he still says that he thinks were drinking. We told him to look around and he did and he didn't find anything this time either and says "I still think you're drinking, and if you are, please stop it. The reason I came to your room is because my colleague made a mistake when you paid and you have to come to the reception and pay the rest." Really rude guy so yeah, the staff is horrible. The room might have been around 35 degrees and it was impossible to fall asleep. It also felt like the bathrooms were being cleaned all the time and the result of this was that boys and girls had to shave, shower and taking dumps in the same restroom. If every hostel is booked in Brisbane and this is the only one left, sleep in the car, it's better!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

If you've ever seen a crack house and wondered what it's like to live in one, Cloud9 is worth checking out. When you enter the building a voice in your head will tell you to leave immediately. Ignore this. I noticed the smell of urine on the way up the stairs. I later learned in this subculture, the management will leave their urine and faeces to show others who is in charge. As soon as you step in your room, you'll feel the rushing sensation that you've hit rock bottom. The carpet is wet with water coming from the AC unit. There's black mould and a patch of ceiling in the washroom was cut out so water could pass though from the dripping pipes above. I'm not sure who owns the building. But in my mind I imagine it's a 6 foot tall cockroach. I was an hour late checking out. The one they call Craps In Stairways was very disappointed in me. I felt like I had fumbled the game winning pass during a super bowl match . And for this, I did not get my $20 deposit back. Could9 has given me a new out look on life. No matter what, things could always be worse.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is pretty run down. Whilst it is very cheap and very close to the bus terminal it is in pretty shabby condition. The cloud 9 sign is broken, the kitchen is poky and not very clean, the rooms are a good size but pretty filthy and the bathroom was in hideous condition. The vibe is also not very sociable or backpackery.

The staff were friendly and accommodating but not all that knowledgeable about the local area. I'm afraid I would advise staying elsewhere.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

The worst of 6 hostels I've stayed at in Brisbane. Tiny rooms, the advertised air con doesn't actuallying have any coolant and so run down this place should get investigated by health and safety authorities. When it rains there are so many leaks through smashed windows, broken doors and holes in the roof. The showers are mouldy and the urinals are always blocked, and the kitchen is home to armies of ants and the biggest cockroaches I've seen in my life. The manager Chris is really rude to his staff and guests and the assistant manager - Dave - (whilst a nice guy usually) had a drunken fight with a guest where holes got punched in the wall (currently covered by posters) and also went to the toilet on the stairs (pee and poo) after making 3 other staff members cry (2 quit the next day). Most of the guests and other staff are cool though. But do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. Really. Don't put yourself through that place.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

Overall, that's one of the good hostel I've been to.. Close to everything, good facilities, every night they offer something to do. They have a bar next door but gotta say it wasn't open when I was there. Had a lot of fun with the staff, always trying to help out. Prices are cheap, I was staying in a 16 bed dorm with aircon and even though it's a big amount of people it was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

This hostel is great if you're looking for bottom line accommodation. Air con doesn't work, rooms are cramped and crappy sheets. The manager of this hostel is 110% unprofessional (Chris) loves to throw peoples belongings out on the street. Your man found empty goon boxes in our 6 bed dorm when the 3 of us checked out. No proof these boxes were ours. He then went to make a public show of verbally abusing one of us. Also one of the duty managers emptied his bowels in a stairwell which still smells a month later. And on top of that the kitchen is foul and bathrooms even more so. But cheap accommodation guys and the backpackers there are sweet :) !!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloud 9 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Backpackers

Address: 350 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the 2nd closest hostel to the Brisbane Transit Centre (less than 5 minutes walk) and just 2 mins walk from the closest supermarket. The perfect location for CBD access, South Bank, & Suncorp Stadium. We offer awesome dorm rooms with high angled ceilings and plenty of space. Many of our rooms are en suite and air-conditioned. We have super comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff, and some rooms offering awesome River and City views. You can also take advantage of the $ million view from our roof top terrace. Cloud 9 features state of the Art security with a digital monitored camera system, 24 hour security and Night Management, and electronic swipe card access for every Guest Room. Please note that Cloud 9 is a licensed premises and therefore under Queensland Liquor Licensing laws we cannot accommodate under 18's. For the security of our guests, please note you must present a passport to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Cloud 9 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloud 9 Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.