We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unimpressed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vroom Cafe

Vroom Cafe
46 James Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
(07) 3257 4455
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,034 of 3,122 Restaurants in Brisbane
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Very unimpressed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My sister and I were looking for a quick bite to eat. Firstly waited over 20 mins for a very over priced sandwich and salad. The wrong salad was delivered but as we were in a hurry we accepted it. Admittedly they only charged us half the price for the salad. It was definitely not even worth that. When we approached the cash register wanting to pay the waitress serving us asked us where we were sitting. I am very over places thinking they can charge the earth, serve bad food and not really care about the quality of the guest experience. Not sure how they are in business in James street???

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    11
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Dreadfully dreadful UGH!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

9pm Friday evening 4 adults looking to have coffee and dessert after a show.
We were sent to sit at a dirty table...after 5 minutes or so the plates were cleared- the table WAS NOT wiped down. Eventually 4 dirty floppy menus and a wine list were put in front of us.
No water or niceties.
5 desserts listed of which the one we wanted to order wasn't available. The panna cotta was recommended- lord help us. It was supposed to contain coconut and kaffir lime and come with berry compote. It tasted of nothing and came with a sticky smear of berry sauce/ & two bits of crystallised sugar sheets- YUK!
Two coffees appeared but the tea (dirty cup and dirty strainer) and the milkshake (served at the table in a metal container with 2 plastic straws)- came well after.
We then sat ignored with a table of dirty crockery until we'd asked for and paid the bill then left.
The whole place has an air of neglect and overall grubbiness- even the plants look unhealthy.
We will never go back- ever. YUK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Enjoyed a long lunch here with a friend. We were asked about drinks and given a menu immediately. I had a seafood risotto which was plentiful for a lunch serve. All waiters were helpful and happy to serve. Only downsides were a glass of Shiraz was served with a lot of sediment. After bringing it to bar staff's attention, it was still charged and overall, the bill was a bit pricey for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dinner def worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We came in for dinner and what a pleasant surprise.
Wait staff were attentive and caring but the stand out came from the food we started with the prawn and scallop entree special it looked great and the flavour was fresh for mains I had the marinated duck salad and it was stunning perfectly cooked I wanted a second, my partner got the sand crab lasagna and it was the best she ever had.
Sadly we had to go to the movies otherwise would have loved to try the deserts which the staff came back to see if we wanted
We will be back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food fine, service great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ventured over to Vroom on a late Sunday afternoon, after a movie session at the Palace Cinemas.

What struck us straight away was the positive, upbeat, helpful service from two of the young male servers... hang on... parallel universe? Happy staff on a Sunday afternoon, yes. Helpful to customers, yes. Quick service, yes. Smiles with service, yes. Water straight away, yes. Attentive to our table needs, yes. Great service, definitely.

The food (Moroccan pizza, crispy chips, pumpkin / leek / fig risotto) was good - not great or fabulous, but definitely good food. There could be some tweaks, but certainly nothing that would stop me coming back. Combined with a cider and beer the came to around $72 so probably a little pricey, but no enough to perturb us.

We were pleasantly surprised by the great service, and that is certainly enough for us to recommend it, and to return when we're back in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vroom Cafe also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Vroom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vroom Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.