We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Makanan Indonesia

Makanan Indonesia
4-59 Hardgrave Road, West End, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
07 3846 2111
Improve this listing
Ranked #464 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

not a pleasant place to eat in, group of 4 people, neither of us liked the food. we ordered 3 main dishes, two looked the same and had potato chips in them... didn't look Indonesian at. except for the service that was good, the overall experience wasn't good at all. The day after we tried the next door Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant and found it much much better. Excellent service, good and authentic food and better price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Small family run outfit that serves great authentic asian/indonesian food. Located within quiet residential area. Must try!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“great food, nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

went there with my family - we love the food. My wife told me that some of the food has MSG. Not sure about mine (satay and rice). The portions are rather large. Ended up taking away some of the food. The waitress was nice and talkative. Apart from the difficulty finding a parking spot I thought the place is very good

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for those moments of craving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I would say most good Indonesian restaurants are in Sydney and Melbourne, but Makanan Indonesia (which literally translates to Indonesian food) is something Brisbane could be proud of. We come here occassionally when I am having those moments of craving (born and grew up in Indonesia) and we always leave satisfied. The last visit was last week where we ordered kwetiaw goreng; nasi campur with beef rendang and tempe belado to share. Could not finish the whole lot so the leftovers went home with us. Whilst it might not be the most excellent Indonesian food I have ever tasted (for that you would really have to be in Indonesia), it does the work for me. The beef rendang tastes authentic; love the tempe and tahu dishes; and the bakmi Jakarta is nice too. You would not go here for the atmosphere, but the place reminds me of so many restaurants in Jakarta with the same vibe. Simple and quick - no fuss. Certainly better than Jakarta Indonesian Restaurant at New Farm. Will return for more.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great find in Brisbane's West End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Small Indonesian restaurant in Brisbane's West End. Nothing fancy but great food. Sotomie Jakarta is the signature dish. Take the kids and the owner, Ken, will entertain them with his magic tricks. Great food at reasonable prices. Suggestion: go to the West End Farmer's Market on a Sunday morning then walk up to Makanan for lunch after.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makanan Indonesia also viewed

 

Been to Makanan Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanan Indonesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.