We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baguette Bistrot+Bar

Baguette Bistrot+Bar
150 Racecourse Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
61 7 3268 6168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 2,976 restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Australian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: a favourite Brisbane restaurant for those 'in the know'. Regional French cuisine using top Queensland produce. Frenchman Francis Domenech and his family have run Baguette for decades and are known for consistently providing top food and service.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate here last night and the food was tasty. I ventured and had the snails and thoroughly loved them. I would have to agree with other reviews, the portion size of meat is not what I would expect when paying $40.

If you go and they put you at a table next to the wine racks/toilet entrance I would ask for a change as you are constantly disturbed by waiters reaching across to get wine.

The was cooked well hence my rating. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    53
    42
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great little spot for long lunch, but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a nice cosy venue. Good food, it was recommended to me for business lunch.
I would go back, but did find the service very slow. Its not cheap either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Service is the best at this restaurant - staff are friendly and food is not a long wait away.
Cosy and sophisticated decor, a great setting for good conversations!
I had the fish of the day - groper which was tenderly cooked and quickly devoured!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Time to refresh and find your- Je ne sai quoi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Baguette a few times over the years but not for a few years now. The place is looking very stuck in the 80s and tired. It's clean and dimly lit but the furniture is overdue for a face lift.
Service was good but staff seemed in a fluster and very rushed the whole time.
Food was delicious although at an average of $40 for mains it ought to be.
Would love to go back once they reinfect some life and "joie de vivre"!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Sorry you did not like the decor however we employed top designers to completely re-do the dining room 4 years ago, at a cost of over $400,000. And we get lots of very positive feedback about Baguette's atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food again at this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoy this restaurant - consistently good food, great service and friendly staff. It was a very busy night but the staff managed well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baguette Bistrot+Bar also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Baguette Bistrot+Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baguette Bistrot+Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.