We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to refresh and find your- Je ne sai quoi...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baguette Bistrot+Bar

Baguette Bistrot+Bar
150 Racecourse Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
61 7 3268 6168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 3,122 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Australian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: a favourite Brisbane restaurant for those 'in the know'. Regional French cuisine using top Queensland produce. Frenchman Francis Domenech and his family have run Baguette for decades and are known for consistently providing top food and service.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Time to refresh and find your- Je ne sai quoi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Baguette a few times over the years but not for a few years now. The place is looking very stuck in the 80s and tired. It's clean and dimly lit but the furniture is overdue for a face lift.
Service was good but staff seemed in a fluster and very rushed the whole time.
Food was delicious although at an average of $40 for mains it ought to be.
Would love to go back once they reinfect some life and "joie de vivre"!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Sorry you did not like the decor however we employed top designers to completely re-do the dining room 4 years ago, at a cost of over $400,000. And we get lots of very positive feedback about Baguette's atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    18
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food again at this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoy this restaurant - consistently good food, great service and friendly staff. It was a very busy night but the staff managed well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This restaurant never disappoints / Always a high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Go out of your comfort zone & try something different Duck or sardines We tried the set menue & it was great Service was very good Always busy and a bit noisy so a bit hard to have a chat We will return

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
What good advice! I think often people go for what is "safe" and miss out of discovering food they love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You don't feel in a French restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was a little surprised when I was served by 2 Asiatic people as I thought to eat in a French restaurant, not in a Thai or Chinese one. Of course they didn't speak French. Besides they weren't really friendly. Authenticity is missing in Baguette...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are in Brisbane and not in France so French waiters are a bit thin on the ground. My husband who has run Baguette for 36 years is French however, and we employ the best waiters we can find, irregardless of their ethnicity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not its usual standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just as well we've been here many times before and know that quality service & food usually reign here. Unfortunately, it was sadly lacking this day.

Where to start...

The maitre de.. mostly good but at times forgetful & almost condescending. This has never been the case here before as this is a very welcoming restauarant and we've always found good customer service to be paramount.

While our cheese souffle entree was delicious, there were problems with our mains. Firstly the veal was undercooked. I had expected smaller flat medallions which I've had in many places world wide, but was instead greeted by a large thick piece of veal which was far too rare for my liking. Had I'd known that this was the cut to be served, I would have specifed my prefferred degree of cooking, although I do believe that in top restaurants this is the job of the waiter - to ask the customer and so avoid problems such as this.

As my husband was having the fish, he had to eat it alone as it took far longer than it should have for my veal to re-appear, and the fish would have been cold. Incidentally, his side order of chips never arrived and even after we asked 2 different waiters for them by the time they appeared on the table the fish was well and truly finished.

Not a good day. I'm wondering whether the changes in staff there have created this problem. The only constant was the superb knowledge and service by sommelier, Scott.

We will go back again, as for years this has been our favourite Brisbane restaurant, however, if this experience is repeated, I'm sorry to say that we'll have to look elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
So sorry we disappointed you on this occasion. Veal medallions are a thicker cut and generally served pink -- but it should not have taken long to cook to your specifications. We do put a lot of effort into consistently pleasing our customers but unfortunately when 7 chefs are cooking up to 250 meals from scratch in 2 hours, occasionally things can be misjudged. This is why we have our Guarantee -- where if you not delighted with any aspect of your meal it will be replaced, or we do not charge you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baguette Bistrot+Bar also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Baguette Bistrot+Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baguette Bistrot+Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.