We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baguette Bistrot+Bar

Baguette Bistrot+Bar
150 Racecourse Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
+61 7 3268 6168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unpretentious, light, airy and fresh. Baguette Bar & Bistro is quintessentially Queensland. This award winning restaurant is one of of Brisbane's oldest French restaurants (award winning too) and it's Located in tres magnificent Ascot, Baguette is a beauty for both meals and drinks, with a lounge bar, alfresco area and a more formal dining room all part of its make-up. This Brisbane icon has all your French and European fare faves, Baguette changes the menus frequently according to the season. Service is as impeccable and polished as the food, making this northside bistro a cherished gem
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family went to this restaurant for a birthday celebration as we had a vouvher for a free main meal and birthday cake for desert.

The food was very, very good. Bloody expensive for the size of the meal, but very good. The bar prices are very expensive too - the average bottle of wine was about $50, and a 250ml beer (on tap) was $8!!

The decor, service and ambiance were also top notch. The only issue I had was that one of our party had ordered the steak, chips and salad, and that is what they got - no dressing on the salad, no sauce for the steak, nothing. For the price, these things should have been included.

A special occasion restaurant only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguetteowner, Owner at Baguette Bistrot+Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
The question of Value for Money is a thorny one. The reality for restaurateurs is that they can't charge enough to make even a modest profit. 10% goes to GST, 40% labour, 30% food/bev & 7% rent. The remaining 13% pays for a miriad of costs such as elect, gas, phone, laundry, cleaning, insurances, marketing, repairs, replacements, chemicals. After 36 years we believe we know how to run a restaurant efficiently and are sadly coming to the conclusion that the days of restaurants like Baguette are numbered. We are told however that franchises and "themed" places are making profit. So ... "expensive" is relative and economics dictate that we can't charge the same as a cafe (with less overheads) or a RSL (subsidised by the pokies).
Regarding the steak -- we have 2 steaks on the menu and both come with (elaborate) sauces. I can only imagine that your guest got what he asked for. If there was a misunderstanding, then a quick word to your waiter would have fixed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    51
    20
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Treat for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We haven't visited Baguette for some years before the visit last week which showed that the restaurant hasn't lost any of its atmosphere or quality of food and service.
The food and wine are expensive but the quality of the service and food is excellent.
The interior has been kept up to date and is light and airy.
My only gripe is that, although I ordered the wine, there was a presumption that my husband had done so and he was given tasting test.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely night out for my husband's 40th birthday last night! The service was impeccable and the food delicious! I enjoyed the duck which was moist and delicious. There was a lovely atmosphere and we were surprised with a delicious birthday cake at the end of our meal. Would definitely return again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Baguette for a special occasion recently and were thrilled. We were apprehensive about the price, considering its location. However the service and food made you forget the expense. We had the souffle for entree - which was light and delicious. I had the gnocchi and mushrooms entree which was made from choux pastry. The overall dish was delicious - it could have done with some more mushrooms and extra seasoning though. For mains we had duck - amazing and lamb - also amazing. Although after entree and main we were so full.
Unless you are ravenous I recommend sharing an entree so you can really enjoy your main.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great birthday celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had always wnated to try Baguette and finally got the opportunity on hubby's birthday. We had a voucher for a free main as we're part of their mailing list (carry-over from when Brett's Wharf closed).
The atmosphere is fantastic, wonderfully romantic. It was the perfect setting for this beautiful celebration. The wait staff were quite attentive but not too intruding. We had bread to start which was very good, lovely and fresh. For main, hubby had the duck and i had pork, quite alright but was not as flavoursome as i expected. All in all, I would go back for a quiet drink and give something else on the menu a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baguette Bistrot+Bar also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Baguette Bistrot+Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baguette Bistrot+Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.