We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of dancing with your food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ahmet's on Oxford

Ahmet's on Oxford
136 Oxford Street | Bulimba, Brisbane, Queensland 4171, Australia
07 3395 8600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #778 of 3,122 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A bit of dancing with your food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Three of us dined here on an early Saturday night after we saw a afternoon movie. We had made a reservation (we had to ring a couple of times as the phone rang out and wasn't answered) and there was no problem in gaining our seat.

The service was hit and miss. We asked the waitress to talk us through the menu as we hadn't been here before and what she did surprised us. She read the title on each page and then walked off. We wanted to know what was best to order and any suggestions, but all she gave us was for us to read it ourselves. Trying to track down a waiter was difficult as they rushed past you to deliver to other tables. Eventually our bottle of water was replaced.

We ordered the banquet at $36 per person. The amount of food was huge and tasty unfortunately the three of us were unable to get through it all. We were provided take away containers for us to fill it ourselves.

During the meal they provided Belly Dancers. They were very good and glad to see some of the customers get into it and dance with them. The music was so loud that you had no option but to watch as you were yelling to eachother.

The place was packed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The restaurant was fairly empty at 2pm on a Friday and the yet service was slow.
We have visited before for dinner and loved it.

Couldn't fault the food and would probably return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Have cooked better at home!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Although this was a lovely atmosphere and surrounds the actual food was not fabulous but the prices are! They really need to improve the quality of the food or lower the prices to match.....
socially a great time!
Oh and also they overcharged us by $1,000 which we didn't notice till later (when our credit card bill arrived)....and this took some time to sort with a sorry but no offer of recompense....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food great service none existent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We arrived as a small group and waited as no one greeted us and made our way to our table. 15 minutes past and we had to ask for a drinks order to be taken a further 10 minutes before the drinks arrived. We again had to ask if we could have some one take our order. The waitstaff looked stressed but it did not seem busy, I had to call the waitress back before she literally ran off from the food order to order another drink ( this never came). Food is great at this restaurant but the service on this night was very below standard, staff seemed to be more focused on grouping around the coffee machine than paying attention to their tables. The plates were cleared without asking how they were. Very disappointing the only save was that the food is good for those that like Turkish food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Popular but must like Turkish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having been to Ahmet's on Southbank we tried Ahmet's on Oxford Street, Bulimba. The menu is entirely Turkish so unless you enjoy this cuisine it offers no alternatives for those who prefer lighter, less spicy food or those on a diet. However its popularity was shown by the fully booked out tables with groups who all seemed to be celebrating some occasion or another. I am not sure how young children would enjoy the food. Our teenager couldn't eat his order and nothing else appealed on the menu nor our offers to swap with him.The wine list is expensive and meal prices were also rather high. However with Entertainment Book gold cards it became quite good value.
Yes, the regulatory belly dancers were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahmet's on Oxford also viewed

 

Been to Ahmet's on Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahmet's on Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.