We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sono Japanese Restaurant

Sono Japanese Restaurant
Level 1, 39 Hercules St | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
+61 7 3268 6655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Sono Dining Experience Japanese cuisine at its finest, modern contemporary and traditional.The freshest produce beautifully presented to tempt the most discerning palate and visual senses, complemented by an excellent international wine selection and Japanese Sake from our cellar. The tranquil surroundings with a texture featuring a mixture of wood, stone and water feature, all serve to enhance the overall lunch and dinner experience.Our Tasting Course with matching wine selection is exceptional or for a change of pace, we offer Teppanyaki, where interaction with the masterful chef is totally encouraged.With seven private Tatami rooms, some featuring audio-visual capability, SONO is ideally set up for sales presentations, birthday or engagement celebrations, or any important event. Exclusive use of the restaurant can also be arranged for cocktail parties up to 250 people With our dedicated Events Coordinator, we can accommodate all your specific needs.To enjoy an intimate dinner for two, our Japanese style seating by the window with river views is an ideal choice. We also offer Gift Cards so that the ones near and dear to you can also enjoy what Sono has to offer.Allow our friendly staff to provide you with our traditional service to make your dining experience at Sono an event to remember.Free parking is available at the Portside Wharf complex.For a dining experience like no other, let Sono Japanese Restaurant transport you to another time and place. Sono – Experience the Reality Awards2010 Brisbane Savour Restaurant and Catering awards Winner: Best Asian Restaurant 2011 - Australian Gourmet Traveller wine awards. Awarded 2 Glasses2010 - Gourmet Traveller Restaurant Awards - Voted a top 10 restaurant in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Work Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice fit out but I expected more for the price. The food was not anything special for me. Service was excellent and the location is good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    117
    23
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“truly excellent food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to Sono for our wedding anniversary and booked for the Tepenyaki Bar. We could not have been happier with the food, the service, our chef Warren, and the whole dining experience. The Tepenyaki bar seats 12 people around an open bbq plate where a chef cooks all of your food in front of you. Warren our (not very japanese sounding ) chef was delightful and put on a great show of knife skills, and cooking techniques - he was fun and friendly and created a great atmosphere asking people if they had a birthday or anniversary that night. The food he cooked was amazing - delicately spiced using excellent quality ingredients and freshly cooked. We had wagu beef that was cooked to perfection and so tender it was almost like eating fish. The entrees were exquisite - small delicate flavour bombs!! Everything was a taste sensation. I will certainly be back and I have a number of friends who are chefs and I will definitely recommend this place to them too. You wont be disappointed and do try the Tepenyaki bar - it's terrific!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Brilliant restaurant and brilliant staff! Its a little pricey but its so worth it!

Had such a great time I cant wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Went as a group of 4 and had the banquet, the food is excellent and the service flawless. If there was one thing that was not quite right, it is the fact that the dishes felt very rushed, with no break between the courses. If I went again I would ask for the courses to be staggered more. Also a little expensive $93 per head for food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic service - best scallops - great ambience - can't wait to return!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The reviews are right - worth the extra expense to receive quality food in a fabulous location. Extensive wine list guaranteed to please.

Loved it - cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sono Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Sono Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sono Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.