We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lock 'n' Load Bistro

Lock 'n' Load Bistro
142 Boundary St | West End, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 3844 0142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #918 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: International, Vegetarian, Australian, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Did not have a reservation but the staff was able to find me a table, unforutnately it was right next to a door to the courtyard and there was a constant coming and going. This is the only thing I found as a negative. The staff was very attentive and even though the menu is not the largest we found it hard to decide what we should order.Food was good and came in a timely manner.

I will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice enough but won't be returning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I saw this restaurant in the entertainment book and decided to give it a try.

It was a busy little place with a good atmosphere and we were able to get a table with no booking (it was a Wednesday night).

We ordered 4 share plates of BBQ prawns, mushroom arancini balls, triple cream Brie and beef cheek croquettes. The food was all very nice and good portion sizes.

With two glasses of wine each our bill came to $100. However when we went to pay and use the entertainment book, we were told that we hadn't ordered from the correct part of the menu and they wouldn't honour the voucher so we'd have to come back again.

This was despite the fact that ordering four share plates was more expensive for us than ordering two 'main dishes' and would have cost them less to honour the voucher (by giving us $14 off our bill rather than $30+).

Pretty poor business practice and two lost customers who would have returned. I never recommend supporting restaurants who have this attitude. There are too many other great places with great food and service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocknLoadBistro, Manager at Lock 'n' Load Bistro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi there,

First and foremost, we'd like to thank you for your kind words in regards to our food, and apologies for the misunderstanding with the Entertainment Card. I must agree with you 100% in that singular issues can often disrupt otherwise splendid dining experience, and having to barter at the counter about the eligibility for discounts is not what one aims for after a nice meal.

As much as we always put customer service in the first place at Lock'n'Load, we also set fixed service procedures for the staff to follow to make sure that we deliver same quality of service regardless of the staff member on the roster at any given moment of time. Unfortunately, in some cases it leads to over-interpretation of those rules, and lack of flexibility in adjusting to each particular customer, as was the case here. Admittedly, sharing 4 platters among 2 people could have been considered similarly to ordering two mains, and a similar discount could have been applied, even though our tills are set up to only apply Entertainment Card discounts to main meals. Apologies again!

I hope we could move past this one unfortunate experience, and that you could give our venue another go, especially if it was otherwise a very pleasant evening.

Kind regards,
Sue Bird - Venue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went here for lunch on a Saturday. It was moderately busy with the inside dining area quite and about 70% of the outside area occupied. The outside seating is very close and the music very loud. The person at the table next to me was closer than my wife siting opposite me. Impossible to engage with each other as everyone has to shout over the music. We asked to sit inside and this was a totally different experience. Same music however the acoustics were so much better. You could talk to each other.

The wine is expensive for what it is. The food is very well cooked and well worth the wait.

The staff were also very friendly and observant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We visited this Bistro on a Friday night. Live music, friendly staff. Wine list quite expensive for what was on offer. Share platters for entrée perfect size to feed four adults. Main meals, good variety to choose from and worth money paid. Overall a fun and relaxing evening. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We headed to Lock N Load on a Sunday night - it was relatively quiet but still a few diners both in the restaurant and in the outdoor area. There is a shortened version of the menu on Sunday nights but still lots of good choices - the four tapas dishes that we ordered were all nice. My husband particularly liked the lamb dish and I enjoyed both the herb bread and baked brie. The atmosphere was nice; nice decor. I would definitely go back for another meal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lock 'n' Load Bistro also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Lock 'n' Load Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lock 'n' Load Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.