We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West End urban” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lock 'n' Load Bistro

Lock 'n' Load Bistro
142 Boundary St | West End, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 3844 0142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #473 of 2,980 restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Australian, International, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“West End urban”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Epitomises the west end experience: edgy and urban but also great, friendly service, mix of areas. Central locale; a great meeting place. Grab a window seat and watch the parade!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    18
    35
    8
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top Quality Bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Been to Lock n Load before for breakfast which is very good. They have a beautiful beer garden out the back. Tonight we decided to go for our 4th Anniversary dinner on a recommendation from friends. It was FANTASTIC. My impression of Lock N Load before was a bit of a bistro / bar / upmarket pub but they really impressed us with dinner tonight. Their drinks menu isn't pages long but there are some lovely choices in there. Their "Tasty Morsels" (Entrees) are so reasonably priced and very well presented. Our mains were of the quality expected at a high end restaurant. (I had the beef cheeks - amazing - presented beautifully and melts in your mouth) The service and staff throughout the night were friendly but also very professional which I wouldn't have really expected here. We even had a beautiful dessert which topped those of any dessert bar I've been to. Really blown away for the top quality at very reasonable / low prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The duck ragu is a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

G'day, I was in the area on business and came across this place accidently - was walking past and it had a good feel.

It was a nice night so I sat outside in this awesome outdoor area, very cool! The duck ragu was sensational and the apple cidar for drinks completed a busy day.

The service is excellent and the staff aren't constantly in your face.

just what the doctor ordered - highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“uninspiring breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

After eagerly waiting 40 minutes for our eggs benedict & "fully loaded" big breakfast we were disappointed to receive the eggs benedict totally cold and parts of the big breakfast also slightly cold. I think they underestimated the cooking time of the chorizo sausage and perhaps the other stuff sat their while it was being done which is why it was the only thing which was hot on our plates. The food was pretty average, I would be happy to go to a friends place for breakfast and have food of this quality and standard but if you go out to a nice bistro for breakfast you expect something a bit more special. No comparison to a lot of other breakfast places in west end. Also who puts salt in little ramekins to take out with your fingers. I don't even really like doing that at home let alone with all sorts of randoms going their and and sticking their fingers in the salt before you use it. Anyway I think this place would be good to go and have a few drinks at and maybe ordering a bowl of wedges or something small but certainly not to enjoy a nice big gourmet breakfast.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Book ahead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This was a great spot for an evening out with friends, delicious food, friendly staff and a good vibe.

Can't complain about the food we had a variety of meals between us and nobody was disappointed. Service was a little slow but it's not like the staff were standing around doing nothing. Not a deal breaker but would be disappointed if it became a regular occurrence.

My tip is to make sure you book ahead (was packed) and try to get a table upstairs or outside. We were right in front of the kitchen and through traffic area which meant we had a little trouble hearing each other at times.

Will definitely go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lock 'n' Load Bistro also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Lock 'n' Load Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lock 'n' Load Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.