We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanna Cafe and Thai Restaurant

Lanna Cafe and Thai Restaurant
521 Beams Road | Taigum, Brisbane, Queensland 4034, Australia
0738650088
Improve this listing
Ranked #746 of 2,980 restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

good food and nice people. The food was authentic and affordable, better than some NYC establishments

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    8
    9
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant Ever...Very well priced! Definately recommend...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Lanna Thai has the best Thai Food I have ever tried, I go down to Brissy a few times a year and I always eat at Lanna Thai at least once, the food is amazing, best chicken satay sticks and best yellow curry chicken...yummmm...Marlee one of the owners is a lovely lady who always comes out to the table to greet you and always has time for a chat, the restaurant is always busy , our last visit was a wet miserable Tues night and the restaurant was packed out...they also do takeaways, the prices are very reasonable , I have been going to Lanna Thai for about 9 years now and have never ever had a bad meal here...Definately recommend...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I eat here regularly because I enjoy the food and because it is close to where I live. The meals have been getting less consistent over the last year, but if you had an opportunity to dine here 5 years ago, it would have easily been the best Thai in Brisbane. Also since the move, they no longer have a liquor license, so make sure you bring a beer or wine with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“OK - Barely Thai Really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We've visited this restaurant 4 times since it relocated. It's better than it was - may indeed get btter as the staff further 'settle in'.

However - this last time:

Hor Tong starters were OK.

Main courses - very salty, no evidence of coriander at all (nor in the starters). Vegetables - actually crisp, fresh and tasty (albeit very salty).
Satay Stir Fry - barely any peanut flavour,

Main courses were flavoured in the main by ground black pepper - just the merest hint of chilli, which should surely overwhelm pepper in Thai food.

Service, prices and ambience - all OK!

BYO only - prices - OK.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisvegas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“relocated and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This restaurant until recently was co-located with a motel in Taigum. It has recently moved up the road to the Central Plaza shopping centre in Carseldine.

My wife & I have travelled through Thailand 3 times now and love the food. So you can imagine how picky we are when eating Thai food in Australia. In our opinion, this restaurant is currently the best Thai on the north side. The massaman curry is probably the best we have eaten in Australia ! The menu contains all the usual suspects whilst oferring some unexpected treats.

The only surprise (disappointment) we got was when the coconut rice was served with pineapple ! (which my wife is severely allergic to). This was swapped out immediately without any fuss. Despite the large number of takeaway orders being processed, service was quick & efficient.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant - aroy aroy

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanna Cafe and Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Lanna Cafe and Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanna Cafe and Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.