We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service and bad food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pane e Vino

Pane e Vino
Cnr Albert & Charlotte streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
07-3220 0044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bad service and bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

i have italians origin and i can tell you that this is the worst italian restaurant i've ever been. i had spaghetti with mussels and they were overcooked and floating in 2 cm of water. the service was very bad. we had a bottle of white wine and the "ice bucket", if i can call it so, (as it was a shopping bag full of ice) made our table full of water. they didn't even have real napkins but there were paper tissues instead. if you wanna try a very good italian restaurant in brisbane you better go to "la via" in south bank, that was very good and very italian!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    109
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were recommended Pane e Vino and were not disappointed.
Food was lovely. Excellent service and atmosphere. Will definitely eat here again when next in Brisbane.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Italian flavour, if not portion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

On a busy corner in the CBD, a smallish restaurant that is chirpy and happy with a few seats outside for al fresco dining. It's nicely done up inside and is friendly. Service was ok - efficiently offered table, menu and drinks; paper stand inside for those in need to read something in the morning/lunch, when I visited - good "brunch" feeling.

Having ordered food and drinks, I then had to wait for 10 minutes to be served drink and no water offered. Ordering bread and special pasta of the day, I looked forward to lunch. The bread could have been warm and more olive oil supplied for the cost. Similarly, the pasta, although very well flavoured and cooked - al dente, was not much more than a small plate-full - I just wandered whether this was the last (half) portion.

Good food, (slight) shame about the portion size. On leaving, diners outside eating (another) pasta dish had mountains - more than I would have wanted: slightly disappointed, really. But I have to say, the food was tasty and the special had a very Italianate feel to it (although some did look to have too many ingredients, unlike pasta sauces/ingredients in Italy).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Typical cafe food, coffee is ok. They let me sit at a table and essentially work out of their cafe for half a day as I was having meetings so that was nice of them.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Belissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family had dinner here tonight. Excellent authentic food, great service, a must visit if you are dining in the CBD - very family friendly :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pane e Vino also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Pane e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pane e Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.